We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Mysuru (Mysore), India
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in The Old Countryhouse twice while in Christchurch. A really pleasant experience from the start with exceptional service from all the staff. On my second trip when arriving after hours I had from them an email with clear instructions as to how to find my bed. They also helped me with finding my way in and around Christchurch (restaurants, pubs, shuttle bookings, tour bookings etc).
Regarding the facilities they have the cleanest rooms and bathrooms I've come across in any backpacker across the world... Period!! The kitchen is fairly well maintained but the fridge is a bit overcrowded. The hot tub and sauna is a wonderful way to end the day, there are not many places where you can find a sauna at no extra charge, and the no party policy ensures an undisturbed sleep.
One bone I have to pick however is being charged 3 dollars for every card transaction, this is something I did not come across anywhere else in New Zealand and does take away some of the sheen from an otherwise excellent place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank prraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    56
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
62
84
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schluechtern
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The family room at this hostel were simple and small, but very clean. The service and namely the friendlyness of the team make this hostel a very nice place to stay over a few days as we did. We will certainly come back.
Very good value for an affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights last month.I got a 4 shared room, quite small.Clean bathroom and kitchen. It's close to supermarket, fish n chips place, and Subway. The only thing I don't like about this hostel is it is too far from main road.Its about 3km away from Intercity bus stop at Bealey Avenue

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2016
Hi there,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and all of our facilities. We are sorry that our location is not ideal, however intercity terminal has since changed its location and is now at the main bus station. Easily accessed from the public bus service that ges straight past our hostel!

We hope your time in Christchurch was memorable.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse tem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It is well organised, clean and with lots of personal touches, one of them being lovely big Max, the resident dog.

The large garden and the carpark is a real bonus for a city location and the spa and sauna is definitely and extra treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night before my ridiculously early flight back to Sydney (6:00!) So I chose a single room to get a proper sleep. So bear in mind that I wasn't at the hostel that long.

But my impressions where that it was pretty crowded. In the little house at the bank they somehow fit 8-10 rooms. So I wouldn't be surprised if that was 40 or so people. So noise is a little bit of an issue. Having said that, the place is nicely painted, has a nice TV room and kitchen looked pretty decent.

Location is a bit out of the centre, but to be honest you probably do not want to stay in CBD these days *(still 2 years of construction left). Supermarket and fish and chips shops just accross the Rd.

The hostel looses a few points for service for me because
a) Credit card surcharge of $3
b) Incorrect information on booking my airport transfer (they do not take credit card when I was assured that they would) was a tiny bit frustrating as I had to stop at an ATM to withdraw $20 ($5 bank fee too)
c) they take a credit card imprint for a key deposit.

But still... service was ok

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2016
Hi there,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are sorry that noise was an issue during your stay with us, we do ask guests to be considerate of their fellow guests however we unfortunately can never guarentee this. The credit card surcharge is identified in our confirmation emails and our $20 key deposit is important for us considering the cost to replace keys and it means our guests are more vigilliant in returning the keys to reception. We are deeply sorry that we had given you incorrect information for the airport shuttle company, the system for these bookings have since changed, and (hopefully) now easier for our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the look of our hostel, and the work we have put in to it. We hope your time in Christchurch was a memorable one.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved this place when we came here 7 years ago. It was a fantastic hostel back then but they now have taken backpacking to a whole new level. The gardens are nicely established, and they have added a spa area with a sauna and spa pool, what a treat in a hostel.

Everything is well maintained, the kitchen and the bathrooms look like they have just been put in and the villas are well presented. Still the same owners and you can tell they care about the guests and their staff is just as passionate as they are.

For us, there is no other place in Christchurch. We know we found the best, so why go elsewhere and be disappointed?

Room Tip: No matter what room you book, they are all bright and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very helpful, very clean and quiet. Also, very informative with suggestions about where to go and how to get there. The shower in our rooms (we stayed 2 different times, 2 different rooms). were very clean, great water pressure and temperature for the shower. Also a nice clean laundry room and the dryers actually get the clothes dry. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 103 in Christchurch
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 103 in Christchurch
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing