We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it: friendly staff in brilliant hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it: friendly staff in brilliant hostel”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here in December and found the hostel to be fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was spottlessly clean.
There is a laovely large garden with lots of seats. All the other travellers were friendly and the atmospere there is laid back and chilled out, which is what I wanted after travelling in busy Indonesia.
Thanks for a great strat of my trip, and if I ever come back to Christchurhc, then only to your hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    56
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
62
83
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights and must say it was superb. The girls at reception are knowledgeble and helpful, the dog is adorable and the hostel is well presented. There are three villas with a number of different rooms. I stayed in a 5 bed dorm and it was great as there was plenty of space to put my stuff and I even had my own reading light.

Loved the kitchen with the hanging pots, there are plenty of utensils. I especially appreciated the sharp knives (not often found in hostels) and providing us with wine glasses.

The bean bags by the spa pool were great for sunbathing.

Really everything is great about this place and I would recommend to anyone to stay here. No need to look further.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the rooms look good. My 5 bed rooms was in the back of teh house in the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Charlotte, her hospitality and great customer service helped us book our accommodations so that we could take the TranzAlpine rail line, with bus transfers, to include hotel. She also booked our hike to the Milford Track, the World's Finest Walk and made sure we had a transportation to the train station. I can surely say, I am truly thankful for help otherwise we probably wouldn't have been able to see what we wanted. Charlotte is definitely the World's best receptionist. Once again, thank you for all your help. Mahalo, John Tengan

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheeHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for a whole week and loved it. The whole place is really clean, safe and secure and most importantly comfortable. The staff who work there are mainly backpackers and they are all really nice and friendly.

The only issue with the place was the wifi, or should I say lack of it. Firstly, you only get 50mb per day for free which runs out in a couple of minutes on xhamster, and most of the time you couldn't connect anyway cos the modem would need resetting. So in the end I gave up on their wifi and bought a mobile data package for my phone which was much easier.

I will definitely stay at this hostel again and can highly recommend it to anyone of all ages and nationalities.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jwhizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wouldn't stay again. We found it to be noisy and the double room which we payed $90 for was not much larger than the double bed it contained. We found that the single power point was frustrating given that we needed to charge multiple devices and there wasn't a bedside light which would have made the room a lot more inviting. There appears to be no sound proofing in the walls between the rooms and we don't get any enjoyment from listening to the neighbours rolling over in bed. Our room was on the outside edge of the building and the hostel is on the corner of a busy intersection. Double glazed windows would help cut out the road and pedestrain noise as well as helping to make the building more energy efficient. The 'amazing' gardens about which we had read in other reviews were far from amazing. I guess if you live in a city where there is no greenery they would be impressive. Its a shame as for a couple of hundred dollers the gardens could be amazing and low maintenance. Even spending $100 a year in annual flowers would make a huge difference. Given the name of the hostel we expected the buildings to have a lot more character and that there would be a reasonable amount of garden space, however there was neither. Personally I have an issue with security cameras being everywhere, especially when there are no warning signs and when we weren't told at check in that our stay would be monitored. I guess the need for cameras arises from the type of guests who normally stay here. Overall it was a disappointment and not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-yeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2016
Hi there,

Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. It is dissapointing to hear you had problems with noise in your bedroom, all our rooms are fully insulated which does help to supress the noise of others. However I'm sure our reception team would have happily accomodated a room change if there were issues with the location of your room.
We are sorry you did not enjoy our garden, we try to keep a mix between New Zealand native plants and flowers. We do spend over $100 a year on adding flowers and plants to our garden, we are sorry you did not find that evident and we will look at ways we can improve the presentation of the garden.

We hope that you still had a nice time in Christchurch.

Best Wishes

The Old Countryhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We only stayed at this place for one night. We had a private room with a bathroom. The vibe is pretty chilled, courtyard is nice, the bed is comfortable and the place is clean. However the room is very tiny and there is zero amenities. We don't require much but for the money we paid, an electric water kettle and couple of cups would be nice. The place itself isn't too bad but for the same amount of money we paid for the room here, we got much better room in other towns of the South Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoldenapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2016
Hi there,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere here, and the general facilities. We are sorry that you found your room too small, we will definately consider adding some small amentities in to the rooms as you have suggested.

We hope you still had a great time here in Christchurch!

Best Wishes

The Old Countryhouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 weeks with my fiancé and it was just an amazing chilled out place (most nights) with an added bonus of a hot tub and sauna to use FOR FREE! Not come across that at all anywhere. Impressively clean too in all places and the beds are some of the comfiest I've come across in any hostel. Got to know a lot of friendly faces around here and with the calm, chilled out atmosphere of the place, it is perfect to do so round a table or sitting on the lawn. Also reflects the South Island as a whole really!

Will really miss this place and whenever I finally come back to Christchurch, this is top of the list to stay in once again!

Thank you to Pieter, Charlotte, Andy and Gerti for a fantastic stay.

Martin & Adele :)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Metallimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 103 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing