We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very clean hostel with friendly staff. The Sauna and spa was a real bonus as it rained for most of my 3 days there. Supermarket and Fish and Chips are around the corner, good for me as I am a lazy cook.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    56
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
62
84
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I found the Old Country House by sheer chance, but it was the luckiest turn in a series of fortunate events. I was immediately met by a highly competent front of house staff who accommodated me and my friend without reservations. being fresh of the jet I had a lot of questions. the Owner and her well trained staff did there best to answer all my questions. in the end they helped me find a car, cell phone, bank account, and navigate around and out of town. I couldn't have come so far in such short time without their enduring support. the rooms were emasculate, and cleaned every day. the kitchens where easily able to accommodate the needs all the guests even though the place was booked full the whole time I was there. they have a hot tub and sauna! awesome for after a long hard road. I have nothing but the highest regard for this establishment, they should be the gold standard of the hostel industry.
My best wishes to the staff and all future guests of the Old Country House,
James
PS: Watch out for Kristy at the front test, Dangerous that one ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammasters23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The old countryhouse is a nice Hostel with all Kinds of Different Roms. They have a nice Garden area, the Feeling there is very cosy and friendly. Staff is exceptionally helpful. It is Not super Central but still in a very good location Chose to the Center. Definately recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miicooineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words for our staff as they work very hard and enjoy the encouraging responses.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a beautiful hostel with lovely people running it. I was in their large dorm and loved the fact that I had my own reading light and there was lots of space between the beds.

Great kitchen, great garden and great dog and they have lots of things to do and explore around Christchurch. They organised my rental car for me when I couldn't find any car for a short hire.

I loved it and really appreciated the help from Miriam.

This is definitely the best hostel I stayed in New Zealand, without doubt.

Room Tip: If you want to save money, take the large dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbud358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your great review we really appreciate it.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week for nine nights and absolutely loved my stay here (and been telling everyone I meet heading in that direction to stay there). I didn't particularly enjoy Christchurch as much but the Hostel was great. I stayed in a 4-bed and had to move into a 6-bed dorm due to extending my stay. The hostel was one of the cleanest that I have seen throughout my past three years of travelling. It also had hangers on each wooden bunk bed for jackets which I liked a lot. The rooms were on my opinion spacious and the kitchens very clean and a great place to cook. They also had a lounge in each 'House' with TV. Free WiFi was highly appreciated!! The price is certainly justified! It felt cosy and homely. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional! I absolutely recommend staying here even though it is about 20 minutes into town BUT therefore quiet :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hostel and for your very kind words it makes a big difference for the moral of our team.

Hope you have a great trip
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

It seems that the prices in Christchurch have increased since we were here 2 years ago. Don't take it for granted that a Backpackers are the cheapest - check Motels as well.
The Old Countryhouse is a collection of buildings with all the facilities near the centre of the city. The kitchens / bathrooms are clean and well equipped.
Check in is both formal, meaningful and efficient, this is not a 'Party Hostel!'
There's a bus route outside on the street into the City and a nearby pub (10 mins walk) for excellent beer and basic food - but not cheap! See my review of it.
Christchurch itself is still being slowly rebuilt after the earthquake nearly 3 years ago. It's worth a visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review and i would agree with you that prices in Christchurch have gone up due to increased cost and us having to pay for our own repairs as Lloyds of london has not paid yet 3 years on.

I hope the rest of your trip was great
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had booked one of the main buildings in this backpackers as there was a group of us staying here while in town for a wedding we were there for 5 nights. After the wedding on returning to Christchurch after traveling around the South Island we tried to book one nights accommodation before everyone flew out the next day.

Staff were unwilling to wait an extra hour for us to arrive in christchurch and check in and were most unhelpful and condescending on the phone.... Mainly writing this review in the hope that management will be made aware that because of who they had working that Sunday that their beds remained empty and 12 people stayed elsewhere.

The previous week was a good stay, however we would be hesitant to recommend this place to others based on our experience of their customer service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mai-tai4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, General Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review, Our office does close at 8pm for our staff to go home to thier families and you were several hours away by car so it would have been very late for them to get home and finnish for the day.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us while you were staying and would be more than happy to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 105 in Christchurch
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 105 in Christchurch
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 105 in Christchurch
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing