We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This is a quiet and comfortable hostel within a 20min walk of the centre of Christchurch.
Lovely room, good and clean facilities.
Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2008 whilst on a mini round the world trip. It is easily the best hostel I've every stayed in, and that's been quite a few! I had Room 8, which was just gorgeous. The bathroom was huge, there was central heating and the bed was so comfy!! The place is spotless, the kitchen a dream. The staff were fantastic. Yes, it's about a 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Christchurch, but you'll get over it for the comfort of the place. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishLouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of december 2008. Staff were very helpful with our luggage problems (which Qantas lost somewhere in Sydney). Kitchen was cozy and clean, just watch your head with the hanging pots & pans! Room was basic but clean. The garden/veranda is a very nice place to chill out.

Like said here before, it is a 15 mins walk to the city center. There's a bus stop just across the street, and although there were 4 busses an hour, that doesn't help much when the 2 busses leave at almost the same time (so the busses went once about every 25 mins).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asphyxion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

Good hostel with good facilities. The kitchen was well equipped and the numerous bathrooms/showers/toilets were always spotless no matter what time of day. Realy comfy double bed with nice bedding in a small basic room. Bit far from the centre but the bus stops right outside (although at $2.50 a go it makes it's not that cheap). Lots of rules made us feel like we were on a school trip but i suppose that's how they keep it nice. Would recommend.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Came here for one night but just couldn't leave. The people, the hostel, the lovely dog all contributed to this place being one of those where you just don't want to leave. The facilities are great and although we initially thought that the location isn't as great because it's a little out of the city centre, we soon changed our mind because of the shops and the bus stops being just over the road and the walk into town is pleasant enough too. Most enjoyed the central heating (it was toasty warm - not a given in NZ hostels!), the good beds and the laid back and relaxing atmosphere. Can't wait to come back next year. Cheers for creating such a homely hostel for us travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank germanchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

There's a lot of pluses with this place: it's EXCEPTIONALLY clean, the cleanest place I stayed in, it's got fantastic security, and the staff is nice and friendly. But for some reason, I hated it. It was sterile, the list of rules goes on forever, and it's a good distance from the center of town. They are also a little inflexible about check in times - the trains have been running late from Picton, and I was told if I didn't get there by 8pm, I was out of luck. This is weird in a backpackers - I mean, it's a late train. Would 15 mins kill anyone? The neighborhood feels slightly dodgy, too. It's warm in the winter I'm sure, but it was COLD in my room, freezing, since they don't turn the heat on until it drops way down. I shivered all night (although the bed was comfy) even with extra blankets. Not a cozy place, but if you're looking for clean.....

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank austenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sturmmeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,891 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#32 of 105 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 105 in Christchurch
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 105 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing