We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy, quiet and quite helpful - great value for couples!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cozy, quiet and quite helpful - great value for couples!!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Lovely, clean and very honest and helpful staff.... we stayed one night in this place - and accidentally forgot our i-touch there... the staff was so kind to mail us our property back to Canada (which had priceless information and photos we didn't have back up for yet)..... we really appreciate it. This place is terrific value, clean, quiet, a great sleep - and a short walk to downtown - it comes highly recommended.....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    56
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
62
84
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

clean, spacious, with a great kitchen and good communal areas, set in beautiful gardens. Helpful friendly staff, german-owned. A bit out of the centre of town which is good if you like a bit of peace and quiet and don't mind a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Very disappointing. Dead atmosphere and just not how most hostels are around the rest of nz.
Not recommended unless a last resort.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminepad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Hi there,

We are sorry you did not enjoy the atmosphere here, we hope that it has improved dramatically since as we now have such great facilities for our guests to enjoy!

We hope your experience of Christchurch pre-earthquake was memorable.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This place offeres so much more than the hotels I usually stay at when on business in Christchurch. I was very impressed by how good the accommodation was given I only paid half of what I normally pay at a hotel or motel. My room was spacious, so was my bathroom and the beds were very very comfortable. There was a big kitchen with everything I needed to cook my breakfast and dinner and the supermarket was just over the road. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely and helpful. This place totally converted me as I did certainly not expect such a high standard in a backpackers hostel. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onbusinessinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hostel was one of the highest recommended on the www.hostelworld.com and there are reasons why. It is perfect for people who love cooking, comfy big and strong bunk beds, beautiful kitchen and the environment where everything is made for your comfort and everything works. The showers are lovely, stylish and clean. It reminded me more of a hotel then a hostel. If you like noise and partying until dawn then it is not the place for you.

I have stayed in lots of hostels but this one was the best I have ever stayed in. They have a great selection of books, the dorms are big, actually I would recommend to stay in a dorm as they are so spacious! There are a few kitchens, so not too many people in one at the same time.

It is not in the very centre but it took me 12 minutes to walk to the town centre. There are grocery shops nearby, so it is a perfect place to chill out.

I could have easily stayed there for a week or even longer. Very clean, comfortable, just different standard of backpacker's accommodation. It feels that the owners pay attention to every detail and take care of the place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Just outside of downtown Christchurch is this friendly and comfortable hostel. Good rooms and kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This is a quiet and comfortable hostel within a 20min walk of the centre of Christchurch.
Lovely room, good and clean facilities.
Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chokbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,738 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 103 in Christchurch
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 103 in Christchurch
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing