We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Hotel Elms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Elms
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Perfectly adequate, clean room. Nothing flash but that wasn't what we needed. We used a supermarket docket so it was definitely good value. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OshXman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    117
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
84
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel has earthquake damage which has closed the reception area and restaraunt but there was plenty of food places of all kinds within walking distance.The breakfast was a bit pricey for what was on offer. The rooms have little or no sound insulation and as our room was on the same floor and close to the breakfast room the staff started preparing breakfast early and spoke loudly with no consideration to people still sleeping. The staff were friendly and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyvose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The front desk staff is operating out of a temporary office but the staff is friendly and helpful despite the cramped and inconvenient office space they work in. My room is dated but very clean, quiet, and comfortable which is more important to me than brand new furniture. The earthquakes have affected the hotel, the neighborhood, and the city but the resulting inconveniences for visitors are not significant. I didn't mind the walk to the restaurants - the variety of choices is tremendous!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel still state they can offer breakfasts but the restaurant is condemned after the earthquake more than 12 months ago, the owners seem to have hidden behind the earthquake issues and have done less than nothing to make the hotel more comfortable, they haven't even changed the information sheet in the rooms, absolutely disgusting and depressing place taking advantage of the lack of other hotels in the city.

Room Tip: All the travellers in our group (24) said the same, that the rooms are disgusting and the hotel is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

It's not luxurious, and the area doesn't have the charm that pre-earthquake downtown did, but my room was plenty spacious and the staff was friendly. The hotel restaurant was closed at the time I was there, but there are lots of take-away places with ethnic food within easy walking distance. In-room internet was a little costly ($20 per day), but there was a public computer where you could do a few minutes of internet free. It's a little far from downtown, but in early 2012, with downtown still mostly not open, that's not a big issue. In sum, not a great hotel, but you can get a comfortable night's sleep and decent food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANSMET4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our last night in New Zealand and booking was done late so this was the only hotel available for our group. We had a room on the 4th floor facing the front and ti was a bit dated.. Noises from below was carried right up to the room all night and we could hear whole conversations quite clearly. we had to leave the windows open as it was rather warm and the only ventilation was through the windows. I did not find the beds comfortable. I give credit to the fact that have improvised due to the earthquake as the reception is located outdoors and they did a great job on that. Breakfast was average and with minimal options. I thought the staff at the breakfast area was rather curt when we turned up early. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back not facing the reception where people enter and leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Initial impressions were a bit negative - our tour group had been booked into the Crown Plaza until the Feb earthquake. The decor etc was not of the standard we had expected when we booked the holiday. However, you have to warm to a place that although considerably damaged by the earthquake (main entrance and restaurant unusable) manages to keep open by using a container as reception and a conference room for breakfast. Our bedroom was large and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast (they can only supply continental breakfast until the restaurant can be reopened) was fine, with good service. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the hotel is only a short drive from the airport, so the Elms makes a decent choice for an initial couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
2.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#43 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Elms

Property: Quality Hotel Elms
Address: 456 Papanui Rd, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#39 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Elms 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE AND CBD DROP OFF AND PICK UPS 8am -5pm daily!! The Recently refurbished Quality Hotel Elms features unlimited free WiFi and easy access to Northlands Mall, which offers 150 shops, 2 supermarkets, a food court and cinemas. This Christchurch, New Zealand hotel is also convenient to Canterbury Museum, Horncastle Arena, Canterbury University and AMI Stadium. Guests of the Quality Hotel Elms are invited to grab a drink or a bite to eat at Sapporo Gold Restaurant and Bar, which is conveniently located on-site. There are 3 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 250 people for banquets and conferences. All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a microwave. This is a non-smoking hotel. Guests have access to coin-operated laundry facilities and coin-operated internet kiosk. Quality Hotel Elms is within 10 minutes' drive of Christchurch Casino and Hagley Park. Christchurch Airport is 11 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elms Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing