We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i miss this place”
Review of Quality Hotel Elms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Elms
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

this place reminds me so much of home. quiet, and friendly. it is located around 15min drives from christchurch international airport and and 10min drives to the city centre. it is very close to a big shopping mall and also, a smaller mall (merivale mall). its all within walking distance. i wont recommend it to anyone who wish to stay in town area but its a perfect for tourist who travels by own car. they do offer free car park for all the traveler. the room is clean and odorless as they dont allow smoking in their rooms. you should also try their restaurant breakfast. i love their scrambled eggs. best scramble egg i ever tasted.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobjrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2007

Stayed for one night as part of a Travelsphere tour in late November this year. Its about a five to ten minute bus ride from the centre of Christchurch. The rooms are clean but the location very quiet. The beds were Ok, I managed to sleep.
The restaurant is the main talking point however. There was excellent and very poor involved. The excellence was the superb food they served up. It was the best food I enjoyed on the holiday. However the restaurant was mostly empty. The reason was the 'pushy' restaurant manageress who bullied her staff (like Basil Fawlty). I ordered a bottle of wine and this manageress commented that she thought the wine was rubbish. This was very unprofessional. She also persuaded staff not to tip of the credit card but in cash. Then she pocketed all the tips herself rather than pass them onto the staff who deserved it. The hotel and restaurant were very good but not attraction customers, possible because of this individual. Suggest maybe the hotel manager considers this as the food in the restaurant is really excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

The hotel is nothing really outstanding but a good choice for those with a car as it's about 3km out of the city. However, it's close to the Merivale Shops and a large mall - both within walking distance. Rooms are fairly standard, but spacious and comfortable. Only one odd thing on arrival, we were given the incorrect room type. When we brought this up, the receptionist complained to us by saying "I have to work till 11pm, you know". As it was their error, wouldn't she have been better to just apologise?

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Although a bit out of town ( but Christchurch is so small and free of traffic jams that it's no real problem if you have a car), this was a quiet comfortable spotless hotel room where we happily stayed 3 nights and used the laundry facilities as well!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herculine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

The hotel is a little far from the city center so you will need a car or a taxi to get there. They offered a free shuttle to the casino but we never used it. We had a car so the location was OK for us and it was an easy drive to the airport - a bonus.

The rooms were clean and the food in the restaraunt was good. The pillows were nice and fluffy! The double bed was a little small for two adults. A trash truck woke up up at 5:30 AM but I am a light sleeper.

We stayed for two nights and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imakebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
668
Reviewed 9 April 2005

This hotel is convenient to the airport, and a ten minute drive into town. Has parking just outside the door in their own lot. The entire hotel is non-smoking, although there are smoking areas outside. The beds in our room were VERY soft, too much so. The room was clean and spacious, ditto for the bathroom. There are several restaurants nearby to walk to if you don't want to drive into town. Not a fancy place, but clean, quiet and just a short drive or bus trip to the center of town.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Queanbeyan NSW Australia
113
Reviewed 20 July 2004

We have stayed in this hotel on three different trips both into and out of Christchurch and over a number of nights. The staff are friendly, courteous, prompt, the rooms very good, compfortable and above all spotless.

The restaurant is very good - good food and wine - portions are huge. THe bar is great. Has a good carpark, metro bus at door, can walk into town, easy access to airport.

If you want to eat at other restaurants - Merivale is down the road - within walking distance - so if you imbibe you don't have to drive!

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,944 reviews
2.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Elms

Address: 456 Papanui Rd | Papanui, Christchurch 8542, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#39 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £82 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Elms 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently based in a quiet location outside of Christchurch’s CBD, Quality Hotel Elms provides 96 well-appointed rooms that will suit both leisure and corporate guests. Focusing on fresh, local produce, Elms’ recently refurbished onsite restaurant Fig is a must while visiting. With quick and easy access to the city’s International Airport, shopping mall and CBD, the hotel prides itself on delivering quality service with a smile in your home away from home. Conference facilities Whether it’s a corporate training day for up to 10 persons, a conference for 150 or a one-off event, the experienced staff at Quality Hotel Elms will provide you and your guests with a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elms Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing