We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently had dinner at the restaurant, it has a nice relaxed feeling, the staff were friendly, but did forget our drinks orders twice, and the wine we ordered had run out. One of the girls did not know what the plate of veg looked like as she suggested they were already on the plate (they came separate). The soup and chicken liver parfait were lovely but the bread with the pate was awful, not crisp, but soft and crumbly. The mains of pork and beef fillet were both beautiful and generous servings.
Outside lights at night would be a big plus, no curtains made it cool by the windows and it would have been nice to see what was outside. We did enjoy our evening though, and will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconsistent experience you had in the Restaurant. I have discussed these issues with the restaurant team and this has been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort and if you would like to discuss your experience further please feel free to contact me directly at the Resort.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    198
    88
    38
    19
See reviews for
81
305
14
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I live locally however to celebrate Mother's Day weekend and her pending birthday I decided to treat her to night away from the kids and a meal out. Clearwater fit the bill nicely, we got the bed and breakfast option, in the standard lakeside rooms, (note these rooms don't overlook the lakes, but are set in peaceful surrounds and have a door which leads outside to a jetty to veiw the lake from). We loved the room and adored the evening meal we had in the lakes resturants, food and service were excellent, buffet breakfast was provided as part of our room deal and it was very nice. Only downfall of the room was that the sky TV signal was poor and the picture was hazy. If we had of stayed longer I would have asked for it to be fixed, as I have excellent picture quality at home and expect the quality to be excellent every where I stay. However I can't wait to return to Clearwater and ensure on the next visit we secure a lake view suite! As I don't believe there is acommodation in christchurch that comes close to such a beautiful veiw and feeling of piece, Top Notch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit your review. It is great to read how much your enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for the television reception and the technician is looking into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort soon.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just arrived back in the UK after a trip of a lifetime, we stayed at peppers for two nights. It is a very clean spacious hotel& golf cause. We stayed in a lake side lodge and what a lovely room large lounge, bedroom and outside seating having windows that look into the bathroom from the lounge and the bedroom could be a bit off putting.......
Part of our holiday had been a bit stressful and we had to contact peppers re a date change our contact was with a very present girl called Abbé who was so calm it was a pleasure to deal with her and when we needed her help to print revised flight tickets nothing was a problem( all staff very friendly )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora,

Thank you for submitting your review and it is good to hear your enjoyed your stay at Peppers Clearwater Resort. I have shared your comments with Abbe and the team.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The place is very nice, welcome by a very warm staff.
Room is very beautiful, with a view of the lake, plus we got a small dock on our back porch.

We also had diner in the restaurant, food was awesome, and the service is also great.

Overall, we were looking forward to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddybayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Kia ora

Thank you for your feedback and it is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although my wedding was in December, I have been left feeling upset about my experience at Peppers Clearwater Resort.
The setting is beautiful, and the rooms very well layed out and spacious, but there were many things that really left us feeling that it wasnt worth the price we paid to have somewhere special to get ready for my wedding and stay the night afterwards.
The Lakeside Villa that I had booked had an extremely shabby deck, two of my wedding party ended up with splinters from it, and there was a big plastic owl (which I am assuming was to scare away ducks) had fallen from the roof and lying on the deck.
None of the televisions had decent reception-which isn't a biggie but is unprofessional none the less.
The bath was dirty, with dark smudges up the side, and one of the electronic blinds would not properly close.
The bed was actually two singles that had been pushed together, which made it a very uncomfortable nights sleep.
The worst thing was being woken up at 7am the next morning to tradesmen across the lake (who looked as though they were building more suites) playing loud music.
We were grateful that the restaurant remained open to accommodate our 14 guests for buffet breakfast the next morning, but don't expect any extra effort on behalf of the staff to acknowledge a special wedding or honeymoon occasion.
I feel that I needed to get this experience off my chest as I had high hopes, thinking it would be the perfect romantic retreat after a lovely day, but it really fell short of those expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephnz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Kia ora Steph,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the poor experience you have had. Your comments have been raised with the staff and issues addressed. I assure you this is not of our normal standards and we are extremely disappointed that this has happened.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently had the opportunity yo spend one night in Christchurch and needed to stay close to the airport. Peppers offered us everything we needed. We stayed in one of the Lake side units. It was spacious and nicely decorated with relaxing views. We had an early breakfast which was delicious with a wide range of choices. We will definately be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Clearwater Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had a nice stay here before catching our flight from Christchurch to Singapore. A good looking golf course and well maintained grounds. We had a lake view room, a little worn around the edges but quite comfortable. We had a little jetty accessible from our room from where we could feed the ducks and allocated car parking was right outside.
We ate in the bar, quite a limited menu but very acceptable, had a couple of glasses of good wine and enjoyed a decent nights sleep. Very convenient for the airport.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia ora,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Clearwater Resort and thank you for submitting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Property: Peppers Clearwater Resort
Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing