We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How isn't this in the top ten?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great little place. Christchurch must have some other little gems that's all I can say. Ok the location might not be to everyone's taste and yes they are doing some repairs to roads following the quakes, but this place was great. Comfy, quiet, modern and extremely clean. I would stay here again without a doubt. Top marks!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have problems carrying luggage up stairs
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Tuscana, both times in Room 6. The room is very well equipped, clean and spacious. Self catering is also possible. Tuscana is about 15-20 mins walk to centre of Christchurch. There are a few dining places within 5-10 mins walk. We enjoyed a Thai meal opposite the corner Pub. Tuscana can arrange airport transfers (from Tuscana only).
Tuscana is very well priced and located.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a great welcome and were knocked out by the style and quality of our room. We stayed for 2nights and had continental breakfast supplied to our room both mornings which was enjoyable and good value for money. There are good restaurants nearby and the city centre is only a 15 minute walk. All in all, a great stay and we would certainly use the Tuscana again. Faultless.

Room Tip: Our First floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I really enjoyed my brief stay in this motel. The price was very reasonable, the rooms were big, with a separate bedroom and lounge, and the owners very friendly. There were a number of good restaurants and bars within walking distance, and it was also close to Hagley Park. I would certainly stay here again in the future

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We recently had a weekend in Christchurch, where we spent one night at the Tuscana Motor Lodge.
On arrival we received a very friendly welcome from Grant the owner, he went out of his way to ensure we had everything we required for an enjoyable stay.
Our room was immaculate, modern and very well appointed, including free wifi, spa bath and a very comfortable bed.
We were within easy walking distance to some of Christcurch's best restaurants and entertainment venues.
We will highly recommend to all our friends and will be staying again next time we visit Christchuch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulVicki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The owners here are very friendly, and are willing to recommend great places to eat, or activities to do near by. The rooms are perfect, extremely comfortable, and has everything you need from a hair dryer to an iron. Very close to the city centre, only a 10 minute walk. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our Bealey Street motel was in an accommodation strip relatively close to what became known as the ‘red zone’ in the central downtown area following the Christchurch earthquakes.

The Tuscana was easy to find and our studio room on the second floor (two storey motel) was good. We were set back from the road so there wasn’t much noise, even with the doors open, and our unit had a pleasant outlook over the motor lodge courtyard.

Our studio featured a separate living area, a self-catering kitchenette, a clean modern bathroom, a large bedroom and bed and an outdoor table and chairs for smokers. The décor was attractive and clean, came with lots of mirrors, and provided a big range of TV channels (1-71 and C 23 C 25 and C27, the latter movies). And the wi-fi was free.

We had a good size fridge, an electric fry pan, microwave, toaster, coffee plunger. As with most places we stayed in NZ, the room came with the proviso that occupants avoid cooking anything fishy or Indian because of the difficulty of getting the smells out of the furnishings.

The living room was very comfortable with curtains and swing blinds that can be adjusted for privacy or to let the light in.

To top it all, the owners were very helpful, calling a taxi and giving us a hand carting our bags upstairs.

Room Tip: Our studio was quiet and sound insulated, located at the eastern end of the motor lodge, fartherest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraCSmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing