We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Well located, close to restaurants and about 15mins to CBD. Nicely laid out rooms with a separate bedroom, all amenities and comfy bed and sofas. Would definitely use again. Host very helpful and eager to help, booked a couple of things for us in no time.
Allowed a lay back late checkout and nothing was too much trouble. Internet good and based on time, not usage.
Road can be a bit noisy but ok with windows closed.

Room Tip: Back row with separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    87
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
144
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for three nights in unit 4. A good design and well detailed set up, with a nice welcome by friendly people.

A large living area with small kitchen and built in table was ideal with two bedrooms, bathroom and separate wc. Beds were comfortable and the whole place was very clean.

We returned a hire car to the airport and found the 29 bus from there goes to town along Bealey Avenue and past the Tuscana (8 dollars). The driver even stopped on the road at the Tuscana for us!

Internet - we were given a ticket with access codes etc. You will be warned to disconnect from the wi fi when you are finished, not just closing the computer. The internet keeps ticking away even when you aren't using it, using your allowance. Although warned we somehow failed and used up the allowance overnight, but were given another ticket.

Wardrobe space was good but no large drawers to unpack.

We used the on site laundry which was very useful.

We got a free shuttle bus to the rail station for the Tranz Alpine train at 07:01 hrs. Accurate timing eh! Well that was on the confirmation we were given by reception who organised this for us. And it arrived at precisely that time.

We were in Christchurch during the heaviest rain and winds they have had for years, with many streets flooded.

We would enjoy staying at the Tuscana again if we were back in Christchurch.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Great central location. Walk to downtown. The host Grant welcomes you and provides all you need to enjoy your stay in the area. Great value for the In- house continental breakfast. The bed was fantastic, just right after an overseas flight.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Quiet and comfortable, well equipped kitchen so easy to self cater if staying for awhile. I would stay here again as it was convenient and well priced. Close to everything and easy walking into the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WenZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Grant is a welcoming and exuberant host, who shares the highlights of Christchurch while giving perspective on the city's monumental recovery efforts. Tuscana is on a busy street, but the rooms are set back and quiet. We were very very pleased with our suite: it was spacious, well appointed, and tastefully decorated (neutral tones with a splash of NZ art). It was lovely to leave the car and explore the park, museum, CBD, and nearby restaurants on foot.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great little place. Christchurch must have some other little gems that's all I can say. Ok the location might not be to everyone's taste and yes they are doing some repairs to roads following the quakes, but this place was great. Comfy, quiet, modern and extremely clean. I would stay here again without a doubt. Top marks!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have problems carrying luggage up stairs
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Tuscana, both times in Room 6. The room is very well equipped, clean and spacious. Self catering is also possible. Tuscana is about 15-20 mins walk to centre of Christchurch. There are a few dining places within 5-10 mins walk. We enjoyed a Thai meal opposite the corner Pub. Tuscana can arrange airport transfers (from Tuscana only).
Tuscana is very well priced and located.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Property: Tuscana Motor Lodge
Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing