We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Beautifully appointed new apartments here that blew me away. Stunning bathroom that I'd like at home!
We had an early flight out and the driver was waiting for us. Front desk staff were pleasant too. Also we ate at the restaurant and the food was good average. We couldn't have asked for better. Well done.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
There are newer reviews for Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon and were greeted by a very bubbly woman at the front counter. The room that we had was located in the older part of the complex and it suffered from old age blues. The window to the bathroom is frosted glass and barely opens, there is no fan, the bathroom itself is very tired and in need of rejuvenation. The hotel is very close to the airport and borders a busy road that we really could not hear during the night. There is no air-conditioning in the room so you need to open windows. On a plus, the room did have a kitchenette which for a small family would be a great cost saving feature.

Unfortunately the room rate is not commensurate to the quality of other rooms that we had stayed at over the past ten days while on the south island. As such I have marked my rating down given that we stayed at the Hilton Queenstown for only $70 more in true five star luxury and that rate included a breakfast buffet.

I would stay here again just because the woman at the front desk was so welcoming, but would ask for the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 174MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Perfect accommodation for late night arrivals and early morning departures. Pick up service is very efficient and staff are really friendly and very helpful. Thanks very much to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is the second time this year I have stayed at the Airport Gateway. My comments for first time still hold. Enjoyed a studio room this time in the new block - beautiful furnishings, plenty of room, great lighting, excellent bathroom facilities. The road noise was not good being a Saturday night, but closing the window soon solved that. Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ordinarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived at Christchurch airport & decided not to travel south straight away. The
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge was easy to find, clean, friendly & the most comfy beds of all the places we stayed in on our world trip ! Easy parking - they would have collected us from the airport had we not already booked a car. Great location to drive around the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wherenext222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a very nice time there. The motel staff were very courteous and efficient. It was also near to where we wanted to go around Christchurch. Too bad we couldn't stay longer. We hope to return there when we come back to New Zealand some other time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijklwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at hotel on 24Nov13 with a very late arrival of midnight. We rang hotel (code 26) from info counter at arrivals hall and the hotel courtesy shuttle bus picked us up within 10 mins together with other hotel guests. We were taken directly to our room. Great service! The baby cot I requested was ready with all linen. The room was very comfortable. We stayed at the hotel again on 3Dec13. The airport shuttle bus picked us up the next morning at 4am for our 6h20am flight to Brisbane. We ate breakfast and dinner in the Grill restaurant. Both were very good. The girls in reception were also very helpful. We recommend the hotel for your Christchurch stay for comfort, service, location and airport shuttle late night & early morning service. The hotel even had meals available until 2am! Well done! We will stay here again definitely!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing