We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Nice room, bad service”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at one of the new studios for two nights. The room was clean and trendy with a kitchenette. The airport shuttle service was prompt and the guy who picked us up was friendly. However we can't say the same for the girl at the reception. She never smiled and was brusque. Just before we checked in, she asked for my credit card for "authorisation". I wish she had explained what it meant because we were billed again when we checked out, and so it ended up looking like I was billed twice for the stay. When we were checking out and making payment, she got the figures mixed up and gave us a receipt for the wrong amount, but never apologized. Pity about the girl because the other service staff, who seemed to be more senior, were much friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    397
    125
    53
    36
See reviews for
335
522
79
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was a super clean, super comfortable apartment. It had everything you needed for a short or long stay. Two big rooms, a tv room and lounge and a full sized kitchen. Television in the master bedroom also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdbach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I've stayed two nights there. At first night we arrived at Christchurch airport on midnight. I found three free phones near the airport exit door, labeled with hotel pickup numbers. After making phone call, the hotel pickup van appeared in 5 minutes. When I left Christchurch, this van picked me up from APEX car rental after I returned the car. I'd like to thank the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ban41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very convenient location with excellent pick up service, also from the van rental office. Very friendly staff with room service possible from the restaurant. Lovely room, good quality furnishings and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpaca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed one night at Airport Gateway Motel in October having booked this motel by phone in August when I specifically requested a reservation for dinner and was told it wouldn't be a problem just let them know on arrival. On arrival was told that the dining room was closed for a function and there was no bar snacks or other food available and that the closest restaurant was only a 5 minute walk away. Was also told that the shuttle bus might be able to drop us at the restaurant.

When we approached the reception desk at dinner time to ask if it would be possible for the shuttle to drop us at the restaurant we were curtly told no it's only available to take passengers to/from the airport and were given very sketchy directions to walk to the restaurant. Well twice on the way we had to ask for directions and it turned out to be at least a 20 minute walk and on arrival we were advised not only that we needed a booking but we found their prices averaged $36 for a meal - a bit much for a quick dinner! Needless to say we ate at the take away next door. If the hotel is going to promote this restaurant then I would have thought they might at least have a copy of their menu and checked for us if a booking was required.

Our room was old and badly in need of an update. The venetian blinds on the glass entrance door were broken and bent as was the blind on the back window, the mattress old and uncomfortable and the pillows all broken up as though they had been there since Day 1 but worst of all was when I went to wash some dishes and found the scourer and chux cloth were used and not even clean! We were charged $155 for this room one of the more expensive during our NZ holiday and it was definitely not worth the money.

The hotel had our email address and could quite easily have emailed to advise that their restaurant wouldn't be open on that evening and then we could have bought some food before we returned our rental car. On a positive note the shuttle service to the airport was excellent. I did email the manager with my concerns but as yet have not received a response.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
204 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The place is located close to the airport and this is probably the only advantage.
The room is old and most of the equipment is destroyed.
I won't recommand to stay in this place.

I have put some pictures to do your own opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed one night at the motor lodge together with my wife and 2 teenage kids. Loved the rooms - we were lucky to get a corner unit with 2 levels and several bedrooms. Really comfortable place and a well equipped kitchen. Close to the shopping malls - so we could do some shopping in the afternoon and then head over to ChristChurch gardens before heading back to the motor lodge. It's close to the airport - so it was also easy to return the rental car at the airport in the evening and catch the free shuttle back to the hotel. Overall, it was comfortable, clean and convenient location before catching the plane to head home...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_sg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing