We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT SERVICE, GOOD FOOD AND CLOSE TO AIRPORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE, GOOD FOOD AND CLOSE TO AIRPORT”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As we had a 6am flight back to Australia we needed a hotel close to the airport that also had transfers to the airport and would do so at 3.30am plus also a restaurant as we wanted to dine early. This hotel not only offered the above but as I had to return my car to the airport rental the day before they came and collected me and brought me back. The restaurant food was excellent but at prices that you'd see at a la carte dining. Book as it's a small dining area but the service by the one staff member was excellent and so efficient plus the food came out for all guests on time. We had a room in the new section which did have a lot of road traffic until around mid-night but it didn't really affect the stay..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    403
    126
    54
    36
See reviews for
338
527
79
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the new section on arrival and departure. I was so grateful for the modern spacious room as we had gone without sleep for 24 hours. The bed was beautifully comfortable. Well equipped kitchenet which we didn't need to use as we used the restaurant which provides good meals. Free airport transfers included.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family stayed for a one night stopover. Great service, free airport shuttle, free wifi, picked up from airport at 2am and gave a late checkout. Friendly staff. Nice room. Convenient location near airport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our bedroom was very spacious but very old fashioned (far from the pictures on the website)
The kitchen is well equiped, parking easy in front of the rrom, free shuttle to the airport (very convenient and the main reason why we chosed this hotel)
King size bed uncomfortable (old mattress ?), sofa from another age, humidity smells in the 2nd bedroom
Did not used the restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I picked this hotel as it was close to the airport and offered a free airport collection.
We were on a flight from Auckland which arrived in Christchurch at 11.p.m. We called the hotel on the free phone at the airport and it was not long before we were collected and in our hotel room.
We were given an upgrade which was really nice, enjoyed our 1 night stay, and after touring the South Island we returned to the hotel for another night before flying back to Auckland.
Everyone was very helpful and we would stay at the Gateway again if we ever stop off at Christchurch.
Thanks

M & M

Room Tip: M & M's 2013 Trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2015
Thanks for the fantastic review,
We look forward to accommodating you next time you stay in Christchurch,
Cheers,
John Lankshear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for a night before an early flight out of Christchurch airport but I wish I had been able to stay longer! I was in a lovely studio unit that was in immaculate condition. It was nicely decorated and they've used quality furniture, linens and fixtures throughout. I didn't use the kitchen but it looked very well equipped for anyone wanting to stay for a few days. There were regular shuttles - I got one at 415 am, it left promptly and we were only a few minutes drive from the airport. I'd highly recommend it and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The studio room is very well equipped for short stays, beds are very comfy and pick up service is ideal with very friendly driver. Wifi only works on one device, so not good for syncing telephones, ipads etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing