We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is an excellent very well appointed motel!! Great service at reception, very friendly on duty manager!! Organised early airport transfer! Would highly recommend we were disappointed we only got to stay 1 night!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Carlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just wonderful place to stay, stayed in one of the new rooms, is just beautiful,had a lovely meal at the resturaunt that night. No problems with getting the free transfer to the airport and picked up after our holiday. Was able to leave my vechile there while I was away. Would definitely stay here again.
Julie P

Room Tip: Reccomend the new boutique suites.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Julie658478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked at this hotel (which came under another the name of Airport Gateway Motorlodge) based on all the wonderful reviews we read and the website which showed clean, modern rooms. Unfortunately the room we were given had not been updated in decades, was far from modern and lacked on the cleanliness. We were told there were updated rooms in a different part of the motel but none available at the time for a family of 4. The management and staff were professional and did not hold us to our booking. Given the price we were paying, I had expected quality accommodation. So buyers beware, when booking ensure you will be allocated one of their lovely updated rooms we had read about.

Room Tip: Request update room
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

6 adults, our last night in South Island with an early flight the next day. What a great place to stay for or purposes. It was comfortable, modern with contemporary fittings, clean and ideally located for the airport, with transfers available. No need to go out as the restaurant and bar were very good.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe studio and it was excellent, if you have an early flight try and get a downstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was upgraded to a boutique suite on arrival and I was very impressed. The facilities were very comfortable, well equipped and luxurious. The reception staff were extremely helpful and courteous, providing a free transfer to the airport at short notice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As we arrived late at night it was very convenient being picked up by their shuttle from the airport and we didn't have to wait long. We just stayed one night in their budget room but it was a pleasant experience. Clean, tidy and comfy bed. However the bathroom was a bit dated and the shower head was set very low in the wall which isn't great for anyone over 5 foot tall.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

As we had a 6am flight back to Australia we needed a hotel close to the airport that also had transfers to the airport and would do so at 3.30am plus also a restaurant as we wanted to dine early. This hotel not only offered the above but as I had to return my car to the airport rental the day before they came and collected me and brought me back. The restaurant food was excellent but at prices that you'd see at a la carte dining. Book as it's a small dining area but the service by the one staff member was excellent and so efficient plus the food came out for all guests on time. We had a room in the new section which did have a lot of road traffic until around mid-night but it didn't really affect the stay..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £71 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing