We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

In the unusual situation of arriving at 5am after a 4 hour flight. Knew we would need sleep, but few local hotels appeared to be open. This was, picked us up and took us straight to room; no hanging around checking in. Just what was needed. Rooms basic but clean and fit for purpose.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank camp_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    397
    126
    53
    36
See reviews for
336
523
79
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived in pouring rain, manager helped with our bags despite the rain. Great service, excellent meal. Great location to airport, got dropped off for early flight and picked up on our arrival back into Christchurch even though we weren't staying on our return. Friendly and accomodating. We had older two bedroom unit so a bit dated but we expected that anyway. Bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated which was good. Are planning on staying again.

Room Tip: If you want a flash modern updated room, pay extra but if it's just a bed you are after then any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
269 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have stayed at Gateway several times and it just keeps getting better. The new studio apartments are so well designed and comfortable. Value for money they are hard to beat. We have already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a new studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Good, clean hotel with modern equipment and fittings. A good quality bed, covered with good bedding, and duck down pillows to ensure a peaceful sleep. They offer a free shuttle service to the airport, and 300mb free WiFi per day...this is great. A lovely modern kitchen is at your disposal. There is an onsite restaurant that serves good food, so no need to drive around looking for a restaurant. Finally, knowledgeable and friendly staff that just want to make sure your stay was as good as possible and that you will come back again. The only reason they did not get a 5 star from me was that I had to swap rooms 2 hours after booking in because the fridge in the 1st room was faulty, and this inconvenienced me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked through booking.com for the Airport Boutique. The confirmation quoted Airport Gateway however the photos and the address was the same as AB. When we got there we had a studio in the Airport Gateway. It was in desperate need of refurbishment, the bathroom fittings were awful, the bed linen old and shabby giving the appearance of being grubby. An electric blanket was on the bed, but badly fittedand certainly unnecessary in the summer. The duty manager Kass was very helpful but unable to give us a better room as they were fully booked. The restaurant food was limited, my food on the second night was good quality but only lukewarm, the waitress said she would mention it to the chef but there was no apology. My advice to anyone is make sure you get a room in the refurbished boutique area of the complex. There was free WiFi and the motel is good for the airport and the free shuttle service is good as is the no. 29 bus direct into the city just a very short distance from the motel. Would stay again in one of the refurbished units which I did have a look at.

Room Tip: Make sure its a boutique room in the refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying one short night at this spotless and very comfortable hotel which is very convenient for the airport. It was not only the room which was perfect, but the quite outstandingly helpful Donald who picked us up in the courtesy coach at the airport at midnight, showed us to our very comfortable and well planned bedroom and bathroom, but also returned us to the airport very early the next morning. We had further shuttle together to the railway station , and Donald waited to make sure that we were on the right one. This was exceptional service, and a very good stay in an airport hotel which can so often disappoint

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Will not be staying here again. Started off with Check In, Told that our credit card had been authorised for our room charge and would be processed after check-out. When the receptionist was told we had already paid she kept on saying no it will be processed tomorrow. We had prepaid over one month ago. Finally, she read all her paperwork correctly and found in fact we had already paid. No apology. Still waiting for the other debit to be credited back to our CC. Room 804 on the ground floor at the rear of the complex was average. No curtains on the bathroom window, just frosted glass which you could clearly see body silhouettes through. The entrance door used a deadlock kind of thing that you would have real difficulties using in an emergency. The worst thing of all was there was dry blood splattered across the top of the bench where the mini bar goods were stored as you can see by the attached photographs. Very disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyboy9501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing