We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here as an overnight between and late arriving international flight and early departure on the TranzAlpine train to Greymouth (well worth doing, by the way).

Was picked up promptly after letting them know I had arrived and was taken straight to my room, no need to visit the front desk!

The staff were very friendly, even organised a taxi to pick me up in the morning to take me to the train station, one less thing to figure out late at night!

Room was good sized, very clean and tidy, and had everything you needed.

Did not spend any time in Christchurch so cannot comment on it's location and getting around town, but the rooms would be suitable to a longer stay if you wanted to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDubs114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Airport Gateway for our last night in New Zealand before our early flight out to Sydney. The hotel is designed to cater for those guests arriving or departing from Christchurch airport and offers a very efficient shuttle service from/to the airport. Check-in was handled very efficiently and the lady at the desk asked us about our flight time to arrange the shuttle pick-up the following morning.

Our room was located in one of the older wings. This was not a problem as the rooms, although not new or especially modern, are well kept and clean. We read on some other reviews about the difference between the two wings. As far as we understood you have to book a room at the Airport Boutique Motor Lodge in order to get a modern room. The Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, instead, will book you in one of the older wings.

The departure morning, our shuttle was waiting in front of the room 5 minutes before the agreed time and we were at the airport less than 10 minutes later. All-in-all, we would suggest this property if you have an early flight out or a late flight in. It offers decent value and a clean and functional accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here late on the 12 March 2014 and again on the 22 March. So close to the airport yet didn't hear any planes. The first stay was in a new room and it had excellent appointments. The second visit was in an older room with a separate bedroom and large living area. The free transfers are immediate and friendly. Highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymicheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 11/2/14 in a studio room and it was so nice that we booked the hotel again on the 13th March. It is a great hotel if you are flying into or out of Christchurch as there is a complimentary shuttle to pick you up/drop off to the airport - 24 hrs- check in is easy, the staff very friendly and the room was exceptionally clean.

Room Tip: Try and get a down stairs room as there is no lift to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_W_A_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The studio unit was very clean and modern, facilities were new and handy. The free shuttle service was super convenient. We visited there with mum & 10-month old daughter and found out baby cot was set up nicely with clean bed sheets & little blanket, a gentleman also helped us to moved the heavy luggage bags to hotel room on 2nd floor. Great service and definitely a nice stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The 2 bedroom unit we had was very spacious..clean...good amenities.A nice touch was the chocolates on the beds.
The shuttle to and from the airport is a fantastic service and we were able to leave our car at the property for a few days.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeelizabeth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in the old part on our first night and I must say it was good.
But on our last night we upgraded to the new section which was excellent.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was good.
All in all we would stay again!

Room Tip: The New rooms were only an extra $10 NZ but was worth it by far!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing