We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed one night just a few days ago in a 2 bed unit. Very spacious and very well equipped.We arrived sometime after 9pm when reception door was locked. Slightly befuddled I couldn't see how to get in but eventually picked up door phone and made contact. Maybe a big notice on door or phone would help idiots like me! Check in smooth & efficient. Our rooms were on ground floor, very clean & yes chocs on bed. Heaters good. We were off early the next morning and the transfers worked well,the minibus even called at our unit as my son was the only person booked for 4.30am.We would happily stay again and this motel is extremely well placed for the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
There are newer reviews for Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of location. Just 5 mins to the airport and there have a free shutter bus to drop you. Not far from the city. Room was clean and big, lot of space for our stuffs, bed so comfortable and warm. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Free WIFI. Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in room 627. The lights were very difficult to find when we arrived at 7.30pm. No heating had been turned on prior to our expected arrival. This is a luxury room for 3. No battery in alarm clock so couldn't set for early morning flight. Dust on fittings in bathroom.
I was charged for a packet of Pringles which we had not taken or eaten.
Good points restaurant is handy. Bathroom and shower was very good.
Shuttle to airport was very good.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and was not easy to get to if you have heavy suit cases. It was also next to a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Burnett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Loved staying here will be staying again on our way back from our holiday. Lovely furnishings. As we manage motels ourselves we will be taking some good ideas back with us. We will highly recommend to our guest on their way through.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyAsquith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A lovely place to stay. Arrived at midnight at the airport. Very efficient pick up from airport and taken to Motor Lodge. Quick check in. Beautiful room, clean, well set out lovely fittings. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Airport Lodge is super near to Christchurch Intl Airport (10 mins!), which made it a great place for us to crash for the night before heading off on our road trip, as well as for the night before our super-early flight the next day.

The staff were supremely professional and prompt - we arrived in Christchurch at 1am and the airport transfer van reached us within a few minutes of our call. When we needed to depart at 4am on our last day, the transfer van was just as available and prompt.

The rooms were relatively clean, beds warm (electric blankets!), the room heaters worked like a dream and there was loads of hot water - all very important for a winter stay! Our 2-bedroom unit had a kitchenette stocked with the necessary equipment which we would've liked to use but unfortunately had no time to.

It's still just a motel though, at the end of the day, so don't go expecting fireworks on arrival. The walls were thin, but either we had no neighbours or everyone took care not to make too much noise. My sheets were fine but my friends mentioned there were aged stains on their sheets and the pillow cases looked yellow. There aren't any porters too, so come prepared to lug your luggage up two flights of stairs yourself. The carpark's quite huge; though it seemed full both nights that we were there, it seemed more than adequate to park everyone's cars - a bonus if you're self driving and not sure whether there's going to be enough parking.

All in all, great value for the price we paid. (:

Room Tip: Mobility-impaired guests should try to pick a room on the ground floor as there didn't seem to b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Check in on Sunday 13 July, very professional and friendly. Unit beautifully appointed, great bed. Enjoyed Flight Lounge Restaurant for tea, open at 5pm, great to have early meal with 4am start to airport.
Free shuttle to airport was on time, no hassles. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Vanderlemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing