We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the airport pickup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Gympie
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like the airport pickup”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice room, very quiet and pleasantly surprised it had a kitchen, staff were very helpful and pickup time after the phone call was brilliant, did not arrive till midnight but when we phoned for the car to pick us up were told would be there in ten minutes which was exactly right

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    403
    126
    54
    36
See reviews for
338
527
79
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were catching a plane next morning and needed a good quality rest and sleep beforehand. This boutique suite provided it. First class in its appearance and cleanliness, the unit was well designed and furnished. The small kitchen was excellently placed behind opaque glass doors. The bed was excellent and the room able to be heated quickly to the temperature required.

Free shuttle to the airport was available, as was storage space for cars were you to travelling away for several days.

Room Tip: Although our room backed onto the busy Memorial Ave, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldudes948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

great place to stay - clean and comfortable, good location, staff were helpful. shuttle service excellent at 12.30 in the morning. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very comfortable except for the outside light shining in, would have liked to have been able to turn it off and have a dark room. I would recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: outside lights annoying, apartment rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked overnight accomadation here in their First class boutique suite we were really disappointed to find it wasn't a suite at all,to us the defination of suite is a separate bedroom,this wasn't the case the bed was in the same room as the living/ kitchen area, there was however a separate bathroom,when we first got to the room I thought there had been a mistake in our booking so went to reception to check , No, I was advised we were in a "Suite "
In saying this that was the only disappointment,the quality of the room,linen,furnishings were fantastic,the staff in reception were very nice and helpful,the shuttle on time.the bed was so comfortable ,
I think they should not describe this room as a Suite,it's more a room.

Room Tip: If your booking a suite, remember that their is no separate sleeping area,it should not be advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tleesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived about 11.30pm to find the front door locked even though it said 24 hour checkin. Had to ring up to be let in, there were staff inside. Clean, warm and comfortable rooms with free wifi. Very handy place to stay overnight and easy to find from the airport.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We found the Gateway excellent for our purposes of a convenient airport stay. Booking was easy online and we got a good price, not that easy in Christchurch these days!

We were picked up promptly at the airport and the driver was helpful and friendly. Check in was easy, and although our room was right on the road it must have good sound proofing because we were not bothered by noise. We had chosen one of the more budget rooms, not the newer, flasher ones as we were due to fly out very early and were there for a short time. The decor was average, but the room was clean and the bathroom had been done up and was excellent.

Now came the nice surprise, the restaurant. We decided to dine in as we didn't have a car and couldn't be bothered trying to go out. We had a very nice meal with good service. The restaurant has very new decor it seems, but could use some colour or artwork as it's a bit monochromatic.

We had a good nights sleep, were awoken on time and the shuttle was ready to go early. All in all a very satisfactory experience for an airport hotel. Would recommend for a budget airport hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was new, clean and comfortable. Great to have a little kitchen although we weren't there long enough to make full use. Underfloor heating to the bathroom a luxury. Airport shuttle was very convenient, especially since we arrived from our flight at 1am. Was waiting at our door ready to take us back to the airport early the next morning. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 45 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant & Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing