We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for air travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Lodge Motel
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very convenient for air travelers”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Good quiet motels, handy to airport with all you need for overnight stay at a reasonable price. Very clean and plenty of room, which you seem to get with older style motels. Good friendly helpful management and staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    77
    53
    16
    13
See reviews for
69
80
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Clean and spacious! Great location. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Now the earth quake has rattled and destroyed some parts of Christchurch we found that the prices if motels around the airport has jumped in price. This motel is about an $80 a night motel but the price was $125. It is very old clean and well located. A free automated phone call woke us at 3.30am and a taxi to the airport turned up at our door at exactly 4am as ordered by the staff. (The fare was $11.20). We you enter this hotel you will immediately be hit with very old fashioned décor, my suggestion is suck it up pay the money and use this hotel as a conveniently located low price stop over. We would use it again only for price and location. Twice I went to the front desk to ask something but the doors are locked so staff can eat tea. When looking for the take away food shops ask at the desk as the instructions in the folder in the room are minimal.

Room Tip: Old fashioned, well located with free pick up and airport drop off. Highly suggest that you book ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and i stayed here for one night ahead of our early morning flight to Sydney. The lodge is well located for the airport (about 10 mins drive). Unfortunately our flight was too early to use the motel shuttle bus but the helpful reception staff booked us a discounted rate taxi. We stayed in chalet 25 which had plenty of space and rarely for a motel on our holiday an oven unit. I would say though that whilst the rooms are clean they are very dated and in need of complete modernisation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localhero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived in Christchurch airport on Air Asia flight from Malaysia at almost close to midnight. Called the motel and they sent a van to pick us up. Tips - jot down the motel's toll free number somewhere, you'd need it. The free convenient airport pick-up was the main reason we selected this motel.

A short drive to the motel, and was given the key immediately. The room, as many reported, was clean and comfortable.

Yes, breakfast the next morning was minimal.

We had a few hours to kill before our connecting flight to Queenstown at 2pm. So we checked out, and kept our luggage in the store/garage. The bus stop was right in front of the motel. Went the city centre to have a view of the effect of the earthquake. While saddened by the destruction, was glad that they were beginning to rebuild.

Note - the bus ticket can be re-used for the return trip if it was less than 2 hours. The journey to city centre takes about 30minutes.

You could also take the bus to one of the shopping mall like the Westfield Riccarton.

For transfer from the motel to airport, the motel ran a free shuttle but only on fixed time. In the morning it was 10am and 12 noon. We missed the time, and they called a taxi to take us to the airport. Had to pay for it, of course.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarthe
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We reached Christchurch airport at 10.30 pm and somebody from Airport Lodge Motel picked us up. Unfortunately this person was in a hurry to go back home. So she dropped us at our room without much explanation.
Our room was old fashion but clean and along the street that was busy early morning.
The next morning we met a different lady than the previous evening. She was lovely.
Last but not least, avoid the 12$ breakfast !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Flying in from Thailand/Malaysia at midnight we were picked up by the motel bus and shown to our room within 10 minutes.... with no paperwork! The room, actually a small suite, was squeaky clean and well appointed. We wished we'd been staying longer.

The property is in a lovely suburb near Airport and hire cars yet quiet so one can enjoy quality sleep after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaptainrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.3 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
729 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Lodge Motel

Property: Airport Lodge Motel
Address: 105 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Lodge Motel offers accommodation only 5mins drive from the Christchurch International Airport. Experience quiet, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation conveniently situated off the flight path. Walk to Burnside Park, for rugby, tennis, bowls. Office hours: Monday - Friday: 7:15am - 10pm / Saturday - Sunday: 8am - 9pm . Free Flight transfers to and from the Airport runs from 7:15am until 2am for late flights. Except Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Eve & New Years day. For LATE FLIGHTS, please advise us your Expected time of arrival prior to booking Unlike other motels in Christchurch we are not 24/7 operated. PLEASE TAKE NOTE with our office hours. The Airport Lodge Motel is ideal as either a comfortable stopover or final destination, whether visiting for business or pleasure. Airport Lodge Motel will cater to your requirements for motel accommodation near Christchurch Airport. We have children's playground and plentiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing