We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Lodge Motel
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

As a family of two adults and two kids we found the facilities (notably the childrens playground) well suited. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. In contrast the room servicing was very hit and miss and seldom matched the description in their booklet. When the service followed the advertised process (beds made, recycling removed) the staff went beyond the call of duty, even putting away our (washed but left to dry) dishes.
Overall we concluded it was an average visit. Rooms were clean, decor dated but all in good order.
Given the location and surrounding competition we'll likely see how other places fare before we return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked the hotel from the airport kiosk, which says "free airport shuttles." But today when we inquired about the free airport shuttle they told us it is too expensive for them to keep running shuttles so we had to call a taxi!! Considering we booked the hotel for the free airport shuttle this was very unsatisfactory. Also, LIMITED HOT WATER. Along with paying the extra taxi fare, we had a cold shower this morning since there was not enough hot water. So I say, STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chinasheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

When we arrived we were assigned a room with electrical problems. Within a short time it was determined we'd have to move. The replacement room was much better - more spacious and better appointed. The one issue that remained unresolved during our entire stay was the internet access. In short, it just didn't work. When we finally went to the office to see the manager, he apologised and explained that a new service had just been set up and it was not working properly. Because this was working trip for me, lack of internet was a serious problem. It wasn't until the office shift change that we were able to resolve this issue.

Rooms are very dated, although the beds were comfortable. Laundry is available onsite but it is pretty expensive and the washers and dryers have not been well maintained. laundry soap is available from the front desk. Ventilation is limited by windows that don't open very far and sliding door that operates like a window but can't be left open during the night.

Complimentary rides to the airport are advertised but the management would not give us a ride to the airport to pick up our rental car. We had to walk.

There are so many places to stay in Christchurch - you can do much better than this place for the same or less money.

Room Tip: room 19 is really small - the ones across the way are much larger and have a little garden in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just stayed here for four nights. I was surprised how quiet it was.An older style motel, but we liked the solid feel to it. Very well equipped with a proper stove in addition to the usual toaster, jug and microwave. Nice to have a lounge as well as a bedroom. The beds were very supportive and comfortable, the linen crisp and clean. The place mats on the dining table were rather old but I didn't mind because they had scenes of Christchurch before the earthquakes. The fluorescent light over the desk in the alcove did not work but was quickly fixed. The curtain fabric had been skimped on - the nets had virtually no gathers; but the drapes themselves were better.
Generally clean and comfortable, though the vinyl floor in the kitchen and bathroom was not as clean as it could be - this I discovered after walking around barefoot for an hour and a half.
I was also a little annoyed that I was unable to check out when I was ready, because they had gone to the airport for a pick-up.The sign on the door said "back in 15 minutes", but when I went back there was a different sign. the reception person soon returned however and I was on my way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We just stayed in this hotel overnight to catch a very early flight . If reception had not called us to remind us of a change to daylight savings time, we would have missed our flight. He then arranged with a taxi to pick us up the next morning, as well as the young man staying in the room next to us. This taxi charged us 1/2 the price that it cost us to come from the airport to the hotel ! The room was large, clean, and had a kitchenette and a sofa to sit on. The room was very plain but had a nice king size bed. The bathroom could be modernized as the toilet was in its own cubicle, plus the shower made it appear cramped. The grounds and the buildings were well kept, neat and clean.

Room Tip: We had a studio room. Do not know if that is a larger room than a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a sports event. It is an older motel that is dated and probably due for renovation. However, having said the it was clean, comfortable and we enjoyed getting back there - a very relaxing atmosphere. The beds were very comfortable and the unit we were in was spacious. I did see that there was a large playground for kids and unfortunately didn't check to see what other facilities were available. The staff were very pleasant and were helpful transporting us to the airport. There is a bus stop directly outside so we didn't bother hiring a car as Christchurch must have one of the best tranport systems in NZ. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed here three previous times, the place has always been outdated but we have in the past been ok with that as it came with free short term parking and airport transfers and was clean! This time upon arrival our room smelt badly like Chinese takeaways. The room was unclean. The man at e desk was very unhelpful we did not need an airport transfer on he way there but asked if we could have one on the way back. They said that we would have to walk to the sudima hotel to be picked up! If you enjoy staying in a 70s themed (including no wifi, or internet) unclean room with hosts who don't go out of their way for repeat customers go for it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belle_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.9 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Birches Motel
Airport Birches Motel
#58 of 146 in Christchurch
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Lodge Motel

Address: 105 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Lodge Motel offers accommodation only 5mins drive from the Christchurch International Airport. Experience quiet, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation conveniently situated off the flight path. Walk to Burnside Park, for rugby, tennis, bowls. Office hours: Monday - Friday: 7:15am - 10pm / Saturday - Sunday: 8am - 9pm . Free Flight transfers to and from the Airport runs from 7:15am until 2am for late flights. Except Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Eve & New Years day. For LATE FLIGHTS, please advise us your Expected time of arrival prior to booking Unlike other motels in Christchurch we are not 24/7 operated. PLEASE TAKE NOTE with our office hours. The Airport Lodge Motel is ideal as either a comfortable stopover or final destination, whether visiting for business or pleasure. Airport Lodge Motel will cater to your requirements for motel accommodation near Christchurch Airport. We have children's playground and plentiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airport Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Motel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing