We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why no lifts, Why!?”
Review of Hotel Carlton Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Mill
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why no lifts, Why!?”
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Very friendly reception, we booked for 2 separate nights on our 1st day of the trip and last day in NZ and they without hesitation charged us immediately for both. So in our mind we have to rush back on time no matter what during our last day because we paid for the room already... wasn't very nice to know at the start although we were well prepared.

Our room is on second floor and there's no lifts... to our great disappointment. The stairs not that high so the heavy suitcases were good for muscle training for the rest of our trip in sourth island. We had never seen the restuarant open either. The room itself is pretty average but roomy, however, the balcony was connected to the room nextdoor. This was the first place I tried NZ stupidest shower tap design. The knob is a one-way turn from cold to hot with no in between options and the water stream was pretty strong (again no adjustment possible). As I was a tourist not knowing this kind of taps, I wasnt impressed that I had to be splashed by a stream of cold water in the middle of a cold night before getting my hot water.

We rented a car next day as well but it took me so long to find a way to get into that one way drive in front of the motel as there were so many no right turns single ways in NZ it was really not funny. But we loved the petrol station right next door. It was a good average but given there were so many other choice in town, we could have chosen a better location to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    38
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
37
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

For $75 for 3 people with free parking passes the value test of a standard motel, especially as it is not far from the CBD. There are stairs to navigate to get to your room, so it is preferable not to have too much luggage if you are on an upper floor. The negative about the room was only having a double bed. It is a bit tricky getting to the motel as it is near an intersection where you are unable to turn right, and we ended up doing u-turns in the first side street. There is also a restaurant upstairs in the building which seems to have closed down a while ago, which does not create a positive vibe about the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalwynCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for our holiday and was amazed at the attention to deatail in the rooms. They were small but had everything that you needed. My husband was'nt that fussed in having to carry up our suit cases severel flights of stairs but the rooms and the friendly staff made up for that.We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

An okay motel. Location was at the top of the city, along with numerous other hotels/motels. It had a small kitchenette, although no microwave or hot plate. So really not much point to it. The bar fridge throughout the night was extremly loud.The bathroom was not the cleanest. There was no fan either in bathroom so when you showered everything got very steamy and moist. Reasonably priced for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Great little Motel, very handy for families with younger kids because McDonalds is right next door with the playground! The Motel was well stocked with everything we needed and a full kitchen. The rooms are small but everything you need is there. Great attention to detail.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank MG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2006

I notified this hotel that I would be arriving after midnight, and they gave me instructions how to find my room - good, but my room was on the third floor and at the far end of the corridor. So I had to drag my heavy suitcase up 6 flights of stairs and so I must have disturbed other guests. I was exhausted! Then, as I left 3 days later at 7.00am again I must have disturbed guests. The brochure does not state that the hotel has 3 floors. The room was very pleasant, clean and well-equipped with mini-kitchen and the staff were pleasant. But this hotel is not suitable for the elderly, disabled or anyone with young children.

The hotel has a good location and there are plenty of restaurants close by. Downtown is about 20 mins walk.

Helpful?
5 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#77 of 144 in Christchurch
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Mill

Property: Hotel Carlton Mill
Address: 17 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Carlton Mill Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hill Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing