We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfy rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #2 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and comfy rooms!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place was a great little find for a one night stop over in Christchurch! Very friendly staff, comfy and clean rooms, all close enough to the town centre. We stayed in one of the motel rooms at the back, which was perfect for what we needed. Due to road closures and a somewhat complicated one way system, it took a bit of luck to find. Thanks for a great stay :)

For dinner, I would highly recommend the Pegasus pub a few blocks down the road. Best meal of our two week trip!!!



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    195
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
88
505
83
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at The Grange for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip around the South Island and 1 night at the end of our trip and we were more than happy to return to The Grange for our final night.
The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Linda was very helpful and the breakfast was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMITHERS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We unfortunately could only manage 1 night at this wonderful B & B/Motel but will
definitely return on our next visit to Christchurch.We were greeted by a very friendly/professional Eva who made us feel very welcome on our arrival.I agree the breakfast is lovely served in a very warm/cosy room & much better than having to find a café first thing in the morning.Eva recommended a great restaurant for dinner within easy walking distance & even allowed us to leave our hire car in their carpark for several hours after checking out so we could explore the city prior to flying home.
Well done to all the staff at this gem of a place.

Room Tip: We loved the self contained motel style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALASKAHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for only one night.
Eva greeted us when we arrived and was more than helpful, we really felt at home.

The room was superb, the staff were amazing and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding!

Highly recommend staying here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Loved our visit to Christchurch which was enhanced by our stay at the Grange. Very close to the centre of the city, lovely room, welcoming and helpful people and a great breakfast. Will definitely stay there again and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Linda gave us a warm greeting and was very helpful and friendly. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and the little kitchenette proved useful for preparing our breakfast each morning. As another reviewer mentioned there is no central point of focus in the city while it is being rebuilt, however, it's not a big city so we managed to get every where we wanted to on foot from the Grange. Looking forward to our return stay here at the end of our holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a great place to stay in Christchurch. Great location to leave the car and explore the city. The accommodation is first class as is the breakfast (great coffee). Staff are outstanding and are most helpful.

Room Tip: Stayed in the main building which was great. Not sure about the other rooms in the "motel"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 144 in Christchurch
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Property: The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing