We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful motel units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #1 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My 1st floor motel had all you could want except limited Sky channels. Beautifully decorated, efficient heating and electric blanket. Super friendly staff, breakfast available. Only 7 mins walk to Cathedral Square and ReStart Mall/Colombo Street (for ATMs and dairy). Recommend.

Room Tip: The 1st floor motel units have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwynn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a midnight flight from Sydney and were very pleased that the Grange was so easy to drive to and had no difficulty getting in and into a very comfortable, spacious clean and warm room. Breakfast next morning suited all our appetites and wants. Choices ranged from fresh fruit salad and yoghurt to eggs benedict or pancakes. The coffee was also very good. The Grange is also a good base for exploring Christchurch. Close to Hagley Park where you can take an early morning jog or a leisurely stroll or venture further to the Canterbury Museum, the Botannical Gardens and punting on the Avon or shopping in New Regent Street, Ballantynes or ReStart Mall. We stayed in both the Bed and Breakfast rooms in the original charming house and a studio room at the back and both were pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GAshmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Queen sized room and had a lovely stay - friendly and informative hosts, well cooked breakfast with proper coffee. The room was perfectly clean, with a super comfy bed. Liked the touches of having a choice of full sized bottles of red, white or pudding wine from the mini bar, which weren't overly priced. Great location, only a short walk from the CBD, Botanical Gardens and restaurants. Perfect place to spend a weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiBritSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The grange after reading great reviews and were not disappointed, the staff were lovely and the room was clean, stylish and so comfy. Great place to arrive after a long day of flying. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeB492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Beautiful B&B / Motel was a Gem of a find Very cosy Great Location I stayed in the Motel Room Balcony View over the court yard the Room was spacious The Bed And Pillows were so comfy Plasma Tv Table and Chairs Great little Heater Good size Bathroom lovely hot shower A Towel Rack Warmer great toiletries The Kitchen well fantastic a bench Stove top Coffee perculater dishes and cutlery good size fridge could cook a great Meal I would actually class this as a Apartment more than a Hotel Room so much more Extras the Staff ( Linda ) What an Asset to this B&B She was just Lovely Thank You Breakfast Menu was great over all The Grange was an Excellent Choice would highly Recommend Museum Botanical Gardens tram all just around the corner Top Spot the Price Also Amazing for what you Get Will Deff be Coming Back

Room Tip: The Motel Rooms Amazing
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Grange Motel is now my first choice of place to stay in Christchurch. The motel units look out onto a very attractive garden, are stylishly furnished and during my stay were very quiet. Leaving my car parked at the property for the full day after check out wasn't a problem. I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: Just don't choose the motel unit immediately opposite the breakfast room as your privacy is comp...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Grange, 56 Armagh Street, Christchurch, is a boutique B&B and Motel accommodation within a few hundred metres of the central city and has its own parking area and free WiFi. I have stayed there on numerous occasions over the last few years and wouldn't consider going anywhere else. Owners Des & Tracey Ramsey who along with their two most capable and friendly managers, Linda and Eva, provide a more than comfortable and beautifully appointed place to overnight or spend a few days. With a range of accommodation available, The Grange, is not only close to central city amenities and sights but is a stone's throw from Cranmer Square, Hagley Park and The Christchurch Botanic Gardens.
I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay. The Grange's website is http://www.thegrange.co.nz

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £61 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing