We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Menteith House
Ranked #68 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed with Fay and Stephen at the start and end of our visit to South Island. They are generous hosts who have a wealth of knowledge and ideas on how to get the best from a trip to NZ. Their home is beautiful - lovely rooms and delicious breakfasts. The hot tub was a welcome addition after a long day's sightseeing. Hope we'll return some day...

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sofalofa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton,NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

There are no words to describe our stay at Mentieth. Faye and Stephen are now part of our lives forever. This has been an experience we will never forget. The accomodations were unsurpassed, so comfortable, homey and relaxing. Thank you Mentieth, we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knappk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

It is difficult to decide which is the best aspect of this B&B, the hosts Fay and Stephen Graham or the pleasant accomodations themselves. We think Fay and Stephen win this contest with their friendly manner and ability to make you feel like you are more than just a guest.
We hope they will have a spot for us on our next trip to the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry47320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my son & daughter, and were treated like members of the family rather than paying guests. On the first night we joined the other guests for drinks around the pool. Restaurants were booked for us.The breakfast menu was different every day
This is one of the best B&B's I have stayed on.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mprayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Faye and Stephen were wonderful hosts and provided us numerous ideas of places to visits with their local knowledge of the South island for the 3 days we stayed. They also were most accommodating when I made a mistake on arranging accomodations the night before we flew back to the US. They welcomed us back with very short notice. The B&B itself is quite clean, quiet , and comfortable. We'd love to return someday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We spent two nights at each end of our tour round south Island. Fay and Stephen were wonderful hosts, sharing their knowledge of the area with us and helping us to plan trips. Our room was very comfortable and very peaceful. The breakfasts were delicious, as were the homemade cakes and biscuits. We particularly enjoyed out glasses of wine at 6pm! We would recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petergagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Menteith Country House is an absolute treasure. Fay and Stephen are absolutely delightful hosts - nothing was too much trouble whether it be cooking me a meal at night or offering to wash laundry. From the moment I arrived I was warmly welcomed and provided with a drink and biscuits. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed and pillows were delightful and bathroom spacious with toiletries and soft towels provided. I was fortunate to have the room at the end with a wonderful view overlooking the garden and benefited from the sun streaming in in the afternoon. I looked forward to breakfast every morning with Stephen cooking something different each day. Their son's honey (Manuka and Clover) is a real treat.
I would recommend having a car if staying here as the public transport to Christchurch and surrounds is infrequent. As the purpose of my trip was business I cannot comment on tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
7.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
5.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Property: Menteith House
Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing