We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Menteith House
Ranked #69 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Faye & Steven know how to make guests feel welcome. My boyfriend & I adored this picturesque B&B. Throughout our one night stay, Faye offered tea & cookies, a glass of wine while watching the rugby world cup, and prepared the indoor hot tub for a quick dip before bed. Beautiful & immaculate. You will feel as though you are visiting an accommodating relative.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergiuV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Menteith Country House far surpassed my expectations. My time there was very peaceful and although in the country is just 20 minutes from Christchurch Airport. Hosts Fay and Stephen provide beautifully designed accomodation where every window captures a view. They maintain immaculate standards throughout. It is easy to see that hospitality and guest comfort is their gifting and a priority. I have stayed in many hotels but this will remain as my favourte experience.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed with Fay and Stephen in the beginning of April 2011. We had a fabulous stay.
They let us check in early as our flight arrived early in the morning and we were exhausted from traveling. The house was absolutely beautiful with beautiful surroundings. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and downtown Christchurch but felt removed from the city.
Fay and Stephen were absolutely fabulous and wonderful hosts and we had a great time getting to know them. Our room was very comfortable and even bathrobes and slippers were provided for our use. The breakfasts were wonderful with homemade honey from Stephen's bees.
We absolutely would stay here again and this was one of our favorite B+B on our 16 day tour of the South Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blairdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The BEST homecooked breakfast during our South New Zealand's stay!

Great, wonderful and helpful hosts (Fay and Stephen) who had made good recommendations for places to visit during our stay at their house and also those not-to-be-missed stop-over 'sight-seeing places' during our drive to our next destination.

Such a BEAUTIFUL home with very nicely furnished, well-kept, cosy, clean and well equipped bedrooms, bathrooms, etc.

Had great fun feeding their cute Alpacas!! :)

If you MISSED out staying in this B&B, you're missing a really GREAT & WONDERFUL stay in South New Zealand!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherlynn_Loke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed with Fay and Stephen at the start and end of our visit to South Island. They are generous hosts who have a wealth of knowledge and ideas on how to get the best from a trip to NZ. Their home is beautiful - lovely rooms and delicious breakfasts. The hot tub was a welcome addition after a long day's sightseeing. Hope we'll return some day...

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sofalofa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton,NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

There are no words to describe our stay at Mentieth. Faye and Stephen are now part of our lives forever. This has been an experience we will never forget. The accomodations were unsurpassed, so comfortable, homey and relaxing. Thank you Mentieth, we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knappk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

It is difficult to decide which is the best aspect of this B&B, the hosts Fay and Stephen Graham or the pleasant accomodations themselves. We think Fay and Stephen win this contest with their friendly manner and ability to make you feel like you are more than just a guest.
We hope they will have a spot for us on our next trip to the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry47320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
7.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
5.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Property: Menteith House
Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing