We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B & B to Start Our Trip on the South Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful B & B to Start Our Trip on the South Island”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My sisters and I chose this B & B based on all the Tripadvisor Reviews!! And it didn't take long after our arrival to see what all the raves were about!! Ann and Harold were delightful hosts. They were so knowledgeable about planning out our day of sightseeing in Christchurch. And took the time to explain how they rebuilt their lovely B & B after suffering damages in the devastating earthquake of 2012. Our room was very comfortable....we had a triple room. We only had the pleasure of staying one night. But, one of the highlights of our visit was the delicious made to order breakfast that was served. Pleasing to the eye, sumptuous to the last bite! As we said our good byes and left by taxi, the lasting image I had was Ann waving good bye in front of her beautiful B & B!! A delightful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvsmith551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    76
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
453
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived early (after 26 hour flight) but were warmly welcomed by Ann who helped with cases, showed us our room and advised on walk to centre and what to see. Room was comfy and clean. Breakfast was made to order and outstanding. Quirky... hundreds of teddy bears decorated the landings! We would stay again and absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
709 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Staying at Eliza's is like being a long lost house guest. From your welcome to your departure, you will want for nothing. Our room was spacious and furnished with quality and style: and the bathroom was vast with a free-standing 'Victorian-style' bath tub and a separate shower. Breakfasts are not for the feint-hearted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Absolutely first class. We had a delightful welcome by Ann and Harold and help with our bags. A really charming house in which we enjoyed really exceptional hospitality. Very comfortable bed and bedroom with every comfort . Huge choice of areally good breakfast. We were on our sad way back to UK and during our holiday we had stayed in many b and bs. and this one just could not be bettered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowse2014hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our first hotel in New Zealand and what a wonderful place. We were late in arriving at Christchurch(about 9.30pm), but it was not a problem. We were welcomed warmly, and shown our room. We wanted to go for a walk before bed and Ann advised which way to go. We got back and dropped into bed. Fantastic breakfast and advice before we set off on our holiday. It was the little things that made this hotel a wonderful stay.
If you want to be pampered, then this is the place for you! Even bottle of beer and one of wine in the fridge as part of the deal.

Room Tip: Front or side room to overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived very late to Ann's smiling face. She quickly registered us, gave us advise on what we could do the next day and then her and Harold both carried our bags upstairs to our beautiful, spacious room. Loved the decor, and the teddy bear collection. Loved the home made bisqiuts (cookies), coffee, tea and hot chocolate that was left in the room! Breakfast was amazing with some really good cooked choices. It made it had to decide. Information on Christchurch's horrible earthquakes was good. Also Ann was very good at suggesting things to do in the city. Walking distance to restaurants etc. Will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room was the servants room it was huge, view of the patio/garden, great bathroom. comfortable Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Agree with previous reviews - room was a good size with good furnishings & air-con & the bathroom just excellent having being refurbished post earthquake to a very high standard! Very friendly & helpful owner & a great breakfast! I would class this as a "boutique" hotel rather than B&B. Our only other stay in a place classed as a B&B was a disaster & we checked out early. It is a real shame about the damage to the city but if the refurbishment to Eliza's is a guide then they should do a great job!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TShYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 144 in Christchurch
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Room or private Courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. Free wireless internet access is available for guests with their own devices. A bar serving drinks, bar food and a full dessert menu is also available on the ground floor. We regret that Eliza's Manor is not really suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing