We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable - wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel was a wonderful place to stay on our recent trip to Australia and New Zealand. We had not been to Christchurch before but my wife and I enjoy staying in B&Bs in our travels to various places. The house itself is truly a joy, lovingly restored following the earthquakes experienced in Christchurch. The rooms are large and varied, with particular attention to detail, and comfort for travelers. The hosts Anne and Harold are warm and friendly, and most helpful providing information to their guests. I highly recommend it for people traveling to Christchurch

Room Tip: The Eliza room was fantastic, with the big bay window in the front of the house. Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V5372TOjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely warm welcome and cosy atmosphere. The hosts were always on hand to help when needed and all amenities and breakfast were great. Felt genuinely welcome and able to approach the hosts with any requests. The momentoes on leaving are a lovely touch which reflect the attention to detail of this charming B+B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed the first and last night of our tour of South Island and Ann and Harold were wonderful hosts. Ann came out to greet us on our arrival and made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was excellent, and breakfasts were the best we had during our four week tour. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were especially impressed with the kindness and help we received even though we only were staying for the one night. Ann gave us directions and info regarding Christchurch which we acted on immediately and so 'enjoyed' the tour round the city and a wonderful meal at the Strawberry Fare. The breakfast was amazing but as we had to shoot off quickly to the Airport, we weren't able to take full advantage. Everything in the B&B is beautifully presented. We live not too far from Christchurch UK which has a special place in our hearts, Christchurch New Zealand is also special to us now. The city deserves to be visited and revisited to see how hard the residents are working to repair the devastation. So stay at Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel, it is lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived late at night to receive a true New Zealand welcome from our hosts Ann and Harold. Could not fault accommodation, food or facilities which included plentiful supplies of Anzac biscuits in our room. An unreserved recommendation. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms have that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Eliza's was a wonderful gem in the middle of a devastated Christchurch. The proprietess, Ann, told us that they had to do several million dollars worth of repairs and renovation to restore Eliza's to its previous condition. ALL of the other heritage homes in the area were lost in the earthquake! Staying here was a treat. The property's story is well documented in the literature available at the B&B. Wonderful attention to us as guests began immediately upon our arrival. Ann had a list of suggested restaurants in Christchurch and we discovered a fabulous Italian restaurant just down the street. Breakfast was terrific and Ann makes all of the calls you need for super shuttles, taxis, reservations, etc. with maps for your use. Our room had high ceilings, lots of room, and a modern bathroom with a great shower. If we ever return, this will be where we will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My sisters and I chose this B & B based on all the Tripadvisor Reviews!! And it didn't take long after our arrival to see what all the raves were about!! Ann and Harold were delightful hosts. They were so knowledgeable about planning out our day of sightseeing in Christchurch. And took the time to explain how they rebuilt their lovely B & B after suffering damages in the devastating earthquake of 2012. Our room was very comfortable....we had a triple room. We only had the pleasure of staying one night. But, one of the highlights of our visit was the delicious made to order breakfast that was served. Pleasing to the eye, sumptuous to the last bite! As we said our good byes and left by taxi, the lasting image I had was Ann waving good bye in front of her beautiful B & B!! A delightful stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvsmith551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £135 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Bar or private courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. Free wireless internet access is available for guests with their own devices. A bar serving drinks and bar snacks is also available on the ground floor. We regret that Eliza's Manor is not very suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing