We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Bed & Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Amazing Bed & Breakfast!”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We only stayed at Eliza's for one night, but we cannot stop talking about how wonderful this place is! The owners, especially Ann, are the friendliest people you will ever meet! Ann helped take care of taxi and tour arrangements weeks before we arrived. She was always a welcoming face whenever we popped out of our room. I cannot speak more highly of her!

The manor itself is beautiful! Our room was extremely comfortable and had great amenities. My girlfriend still raves about the bathtub, which she claims is the best she has ever used. The manor is within a 10 minute walk of all of the action in downtown Christchurch.

The food was incredible! Hands down, the best pancakes I have ever eaten. The breakfast spread is quite impressive.

If you are considering a bed and breakfast while in Christchurch, this should be your choice. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocke031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    74
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
451
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Treat yourself to the most wonderful and interesting accommodation in New Zealand. In my years of traveling, I have never had a more pleasant stay. The owners have the warmest regard for their guests - like being an extended member of the family. They go overboard in providing luxury heritage manor house rooms and attention to one's personal needs. The breakfast is worth writing home about. Usually one remembers the beauty of a city---- in Christchurch, we will remember Eliza's and will return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurRo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrance
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

After having been to 'more than a few' countries, and staying in a variety of B&B's, I can state with complete honesty - Eliza's Manor on Bealey is #1. This B&B is an experience that you will continue to revisit in your head once you've returned home - longing to return!
Ann + Harold are the owners of this stunning + charming B&B. Once you arrive, you are not merely guests... you are members of the family and they treat you as such. Bringing to mind memories of that favourite 'aunt or uncle', longtime friend of the family who always looked out for you.
Breakfasts are cooked to perfection and freshly baked cookies are in each room. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and *very clean! Bathrooms are more than ample in size.

The location is ideal: there are great restaurants to be found in any direction: Ann will supply you with a map of the surrounding area and provide detailed directions. She'll ask what kind of food you're in the mood for - and come up with the best recommendation!
Describe an activity that you're interested in doing and they'll point you in the right direction!

Looking to escape your 'reality' and experience utopia?
I can not recommend Eliza's Manor on Bealey enough... it's like coming home, but better!
Your contentment and happiness is their #1 goal.
And they achieve that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirltorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We were a little taken back when we arrived on Bealy Avenue to find it a three lane carraigeway. Something we had not considered or expected in NZ. Our room was on the front with a bay window. It was spacious, comfortable with a nice large bathroom. The house it self is stunning with great character. Unfortunately the traffic did keep us awake , added to which the Rotary breakfast meeting at 6.30am which took place in the room beneath also woke us!
We considered moving hotels, but noted that many of the B&B’s and hotels in Christchurch were also on busy roads. This in addition to the fact in all other ways we liked Eliza’s led us to stay (with ear plugs!). The breakfasts are excellent as is Ann’s enthusiasm for the area and her dedication to give outstanding service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, CO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

What a beautiful experience we had at Eliza's Manor. Ann and Harold could not be more delightful. When we arrived Ann helped us first get parked in the front courtyard. There were several classic cars in the courtyard, making our rental car look rather shabby! We wondered who those could belong to. They belonged to guests from England who ship their personal cars over to New Zealand when they visit. The B&B was beautifully decorated. It is a converted mansion from the 1800's with a amusing history. We were welcomed and taken to the second floor where we were given Eliza's suite, the largest on that floor. Superking bed with a canopy, huge bathroom, cookie jar filled to the rim, refrigerator to keep our wine chilled, coffee and tea. The pictures don't adequately show how large and elegant this room is! Ann directed us on how to walk downtown and where to find restaurants that did not require reservations. Her recommendations were right on! We spent a wonderful night and had a great cooked to order breakfast. I had the French toast and highly recommend it. We then checked out and left our luggage and car there with Ann's permission while we visited the tourist sites in Christchurch. She was very gracious to let us do that. We had an evening flight out, but did not have to worry about the safety of our car or all our luggage during our day of visiting. This B&B is everything the other reviewers comment on. They did have tucked away under the stairs a computer for use by guests with free internet there and in the rooms. So important to us so we can keep up with my lovely but frail mother back home. And don't miss the teddy bear collection. Pick this B&B for one night and you will be sorry you did not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Everything about Eliza's is beautiful--the accomodations, the breakfasts, the garden setting, the location, and the wonderful hosts. A true jewel!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ronzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Eliza's is a comfortable, beautifully run bed and breakfast. Ann is a wonderful hostess, who knows exactly what a traveler needs - information about sights, serves a fabulous breakfast from a menu of choices, and provides a lovely, comfortable room. What more could you ask for! And then she helps you out with your luggage and gives you a hug good-bye. Can't wait to stay at Eliza's again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Room or private Courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. Free wireless internet access is available for guests with their own devices. A bar serving drinks, bar food and a full dessert menu is also available on the ground floor. We regret that Eliza's Manor is not really suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing