We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good city location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Tree House

Elm Tree House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree House
Ranked #95 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good city location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a very well preserved period property with plenty of guest lounge space downstairs and 6 bedrooms upstairs. The breakfast room has a long table and you sit wherever you like and talk to whoever is around. Great for conversation, but not so good if you want to be quiet! Breakfast was good and plentiful.
Our bedroom was somewhat small for a 5 star accommodation. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was tiny - hardly big enough to swing a cat - but I think the other bedrooms have larger more luxurious bathrooms. If you dont like noise, ask for a room at the back of the property - ours fronted on to the main road and was quite noisy. Parking is a bit of an issue with limited parking spaces off road. However, if you have arrived from the airport, you probably wouldn't need a car - there are excellent dining places within a minute or so walk and shops within easy walking distance. For a city location and a smaller more intimate atmosphere than a hotel, then this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house - its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
270 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I had the opportunity to stay here whilst I was on business. Very comfotable, Great location near Restaurants & Shops, Excellent Service.
Room was well layout out with all the mod cons and excellent bed.
Reccommend to help support Christchurch recover from the Earthquakes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Gorgeous house and fantastic hosts. We ended up here by accident, stuck in the great blizzard of aug 2011!! We would never have discovered this wonderful place, sitting in front of the fire playing cards, listening to the jukebox. 2 min walk to great shops and cafes (can highly recommend Brigettes). If you're lucky you may meet Harry & Max, your local friendly dachshund.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ickerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My daughter and I stayed here at the start and finish of our South Island tour. Karen and Allan are helpful and friendly and the house was comfortable, clean and definiely upscale. We loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I had the honour of staying at this fabulous B & B again. It never fails to disappoint. The hosts Karen and Allen Scott are so helpful, nothing is too much bother. Fabulous breakfast, spotless rooms, good conversation, excellent location...this place has it all!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My new wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. A gorgeous room that was very romantic and decorated very tastefully. I loved the attention to detail throughout the place with everything very authentic yet it did not lack the modern day comforts such as warmth and sound proofing....(I personally loved the old fashioned phone). But the best part for me was the breakfast. I am a huge Eggs Benedict fan and I must say that this was just delicious. True Free Range eggs with delicious bacon and the hollondaise was superb. We will remember our wedding forever and we are so glad we stayed here. Thanks Allan and Karen!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolhouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for three nights at the beginning of our South Island Honeymoon. We immediatly fell in love with the house, it is absolutely beautiful. Karen and Allan are very welcoming; helping us when we needed it yet giving us our own space as well. Our room was warm and breakfast was fantastic. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbottkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#16 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree House

Property: Elm Tree House
Address: 236 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elm Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing