We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Elm Tree House

Elm Tree House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree House
Ranked #106 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights here and out hosts Allan and Karen couldnt have been more helpful even to the point with organizing us with a restaurant booking or two. Simply lovely rooms and so comfortable and clean couldnt ask for more great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived after a long journey from Dunedin to be welcomed by our hosts, Karen & Allan.

What a lovely house and very friendly hosts. We were treated to tea and lovely homemade fruit cake in the lounge and enjoyed chatting with Allan about Christchurch's history and his past involvement with motor racing.

Our bedroom was very pretty, spacious and with charming furniture and amenities.

Before going out to eat we again enjoyed chatting with Karen & Allan and 2 fellow guests, this time being plied with a very good red wine from Allan's cousins vineyard.

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast and were given good info re visiting downtown Christchurch before our departure.

Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a very beautiful heritage property.
The rooms have all modern amenities, but are designed in a Victorian style.
The host family was very helpful and made our stay extremely comfortable.
This B&B is not centrally located, but that didn't matter to us as we had a car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I think we have a relatively similar review to many others. We stayed here for a night before our wedding and two nights after and generally found the accomodation good. A beautiful building and the breakfast the next day was very good, although it was a little tricky to organise a time for breakfast with Allan. Our room was very nice, a large and comfortable bed, although the bathroom was unbelievable small given the size of the actual room (we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite). Allan was kind enough to let us use the house for pre-wedding photos which was lovely.

I have to agree with the comments re EQC, not really what you want to be hearing when you are wanting a restful night away. Granted it must be INCREDIBLY frustrating but ... There were little touches that were missing and we were made aware that Allan's wife was away at the time so I would suggest that our stay might have been slightly better if she had been there (just things like extra clean towels, locking in a time for breakfast etc).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigurl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived much later than anticipated and were so grateful to enjoy glass of wine while Allen made a dinner reservation close by. The Juke Box is great in the lounge area.
Our room was so comfortable and beautifully appointed. Loved the home made biscuits with a cup tea.
Breakfast was delicious with home baked bread, preserves and jams made by Karen.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our review is similar to some of the others, perhaps the proprietors should take a break as they are telling all who stay of their frustrations with eqc etc. We are also going through a similar experience with EQC and wanted a relaxing night away with a hearty breakfast. however in the morning she actively avoided offering a cooked breakfast and we went disappointed. We paid $300 for our b & b stay and didn't get value for our money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heykuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Christchurch has been through a very hard time since September 2010 - a very hard time - do not underestimate this.
Elm Tree House has a battle-scarred chimney - but because it is an historic house and one of the few survivors in this once fair city - it has to remain until an approved replacement can be erected.
Does this affect Allan and Karen? Not in the slightest - they remain positive and upbeat and they are committed to serving their guests in the manner they know best - 100%.
We loved our stay - wine, food and comfort - and would not hesitate in recommending that you stay there too. Oh - I nearly forgot - location.Walking distance to some of the best restaurants in Christchurch and 15 mins from the airport.
Christchurch is still a worthy destination - yes, parts are very sad indeed but the bones are excellent and a visit now will see a city in transition - returning to greatness and a future gem.
Merivale, where Elm Tree House is located, is still lovely -you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree House

Address: 236 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £149 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elm Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elm Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing