We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Welcoming”
Review of Elm Tree House

Elm Tree House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree House
Ranked #87 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Charming and Welcoming”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for three nights at the beginning of our South Island Honeymoon. We immediatly fell in love with the house, it is absolutely beautiful. Karen and Allan are very welcoming; helping us when we needed it yet giving us our own space as well. Our room was warm and breakfast was fantastic. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbottkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very lovely hosts, willing to assist and made us feel at home, excellent rooms, incredible breakfasts, many complimentary features (book exchange, dvd library etc), great location and environmentally conscious! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Karen Scott Owner.

We hope to see you back as you were both so enthusiastic about Christchurch! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

From the moment we arrived, we were given first class treatment. After being shown our beautiful room we were taken in to the garden and given lunch. We sat in the sun, enjoying homemade sandwiches and scones with a pot of tea-just what we needed after a long journey. When we later met the owner, we were again invited to join other guests in the garden for a glass or two of wine.
Each of the six guest rooms have their own style and character and native timber and leadlight windows are used throughout, giving the house a real colonial feel. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the lawns and fashionable Merivale is close by for good restaurants and cafes.
Although Elm Tree House is a good walk from the city centre, this is more than compensated for by the lovely rooms, attentive hosts and the warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreelandJamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Karen Scott Owner:

Thanks for your great review of our house. Pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you to stay.
Hope the rest of your holiday went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Karen and Alan made us welcome the moment we arrived. From tea and scones in the beautiful lounge in front of the fire, to having our room warm and inviting before we got there. Nothing was too much trouble.

Although we only stayed one night, we both felt as though we were staying with old friends, such was the warmth of the welcome we received. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Thanks for the great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Karen and Allan are native New Zealanders, who after extensive world experiences, found their way back. And now they help folks from all over the world feel at home and welcomed. Sitting sipping wine in the afternoon and chatting about what makes New Zealand unique … just a single chat like that is often enough to make a whole trip worthwhile. To visitors, learning phrases like “box of fluffy ducks” are what vacations are made of . The house is just wonderful and comes complete with even its own dachshunds – Harry & Max … We wound up in the Honeymoon Room which was simply stunning with its woodwork and amenities … And the helpful tips and insights that our hosts provided helped us enjoy Christchurch much more than we could have on our own … What a wonderful city Christchurch is … museums of all sorts, wonderful coffee shops everywhere, delightful and conversant folks … And like so many B&Bs in NZ, their breakfasts have probably spoiled me for the coming decade <smile> …

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IcyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this review, 24 February 2010
Thanks for your kind words we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the honeymoon suite we enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

After reading other travellers' reviews, we chose to stay here for 2 nights with friends and could tell this was a high quality B & B as soon as we walked in the front door. Karen and Allan are friendly and welcoming hosts and Elm Tree House did not disappoint.

We were shown to our rooms and they were as good as any I have seen. We had King Size beds (fitted with beautiful crisp white linen) and they were very comfortable. The rooms are bright and beautifully decorated with pictures, magazines, tea/coffee, TV's etc. All rooms have sparkling clean ensuites which are equipped with everything you could need, white fluffy towels, hairdryer, toiletries etc.

Nothing is too much troulbe for these wonderful hosts, the welcome cheese platter, booking tours, suggesting restaurants and their local knowledge is amazing.

Breakfast was delicious with home made bread and jams being many of the highlights. There was no shortage of food to set you up for the day...YUM

Karen and Allan took very good care of us and once again we would like to thank them for a very enjoyable stay. We felt like long lost friends by the time we left. Note to self...must return...soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this review, 24 February 2010
Thanks for your wonderful review. We had a great time with you and your friends on the twice you stayed and hope to see you again in Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This place is one of few truly romantic B&B's left. My now, Husband and I got engaged in the Honeymoon suite at Elm Tree House and it remains a highlight of the many lovely places we stayed at during our 3 week trip traveling around the South Island. The House has many intriguing aspects along with its quaint antiques and wooden decor charms. The hosts are very natural and you can not help feeling like you are staying with a distant relative they are so friendly and nice. I really love this place and I highly recommend it as a recharge and escape for couples both young and old.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,764 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree House

Property: Elm Tree House
Address: 236 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elm Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing