We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful”
Review of Elm Tree House

Elm Tree House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree House
Ranked #87 of 136 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I had the honour of staying at this fabulous B & B again. It never fails to disappoint. The hosts Karen and Allen Scott are so helpful, nothing is too much bother. Fabulous breakfast, spotless rooms, good conversation, excellent location...this place has it all!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

My new wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. A gorgeous room that was very romantic and decorated very tastefully. I loved the attention to detail throughout the place with everything very authentic yet it did not lack the modern day comforts such as warmth and sound proofing....(I personally loved the old fashioned phone). But the best part for me was the breakfast. I am a huge Eggs Benedict fan and I must say that this was just delicious. True Free Range eggs with delicious bacon and the hollondaise was superb. We will remember our wedding forever and we are so glad we stayed here. Thanks Allan and Karen!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolhouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for three nights at the beginning of our South Island Honeymoon. We immediatly fell in love with the house, it is absolutely beautiful. Karen and Allan are very welcoming; helping us when we needed it yet giving us our own space as well. Our room was warm and breakfast was fantastic. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbottkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very lovely hosts, willing to assist and made us feel at home, excellent rooms, incredible breakfasts, many complimentary features (book exchange, dvd library etc), great location and environmentally conscious! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunderchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2010

Karen Scott Owner.

We hope to see you back as you were both so enthusiastic about Christchurch! Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

From the moment we arrived, we were given first class treatment. After being shown our beautiful room we were taken in to the garden and given lunch. We sat in the sun, enjoying homemade sandwiches and scones with a pot of tea-just what we needed after a long journey. When we later met the owner, we were again invited to join other guests in the garden for a glass or two of wine.
Each of the six guest rooms have their own style and character and native timber and leadlight windows are used throughout, giving the house a real colonial feel. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the lawns and fashionable Merivale is close by for good restaurants and cafes.
Although Elm Tree House is a good walk from the city centre, this is more than compensated for by the lovely rooms, attentive hosts and the warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreelandJamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2010

Karen Scott Owner:

Thanks for your great review of our house. Pleased you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you to stay.
Hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Karen and Alan made us welcome the moment we arrived. From tea and scones in the beautiful lounge in front of the fire, to having our room warm and inviting before we got there. Nothing was too much trouble.

Although we only stayed one night, we both felt as though we were staying with old friends, such was the warmth of the welcome we received. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2010

Thanks for the great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Karen and Allan are native New Zealanders, who after extensive world experiences, found their way back. And now they help folks from all over the world feel at home and welcomed. Sitting sipping wine in the afternoon and chatting about what makes New Zealand unique … just a single chat like that is often enough to make a whole trip worthwhile. To visitors, learning phrases like “box of fluffy ducks” are what vacations are made of . The house is just wonderful and comes complete with even its own dachshunds – Harry & Max … We wound up in the Honeymoon Room which was simply stunning with its woodwork and amenities … And the helpful tips and insights that our hosts provided helped us enjoy Christchurch much more than we could have on our own … What a wonderful city Christchurch is … museums of all sorts, wonderful coffee shops everywhere, delightful and conversant folks … And like so many B&Bs in NZ, their breakfasts have probably spoiled me for the coming decade <smile> …

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IcyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmtreehouse, Owner at Elm Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2010

Thanks for your kind words we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the honeymoon suite we enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,943 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 136 in Christchurch
650 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree House

Address: 236 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £155 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elm Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elm Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing