We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress free family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherborne Motor Lodge
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stress free family trip”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 nights there. Each day we requested our room to be made up and it was fantastic, great standard. We had sky tv, wi-fi and a spa bath. A central location that was quiet and secure. We were never cold as the heating was good. The owners are friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable and it was great to have separate rooms. Modern and compact, perfect if you are busy! It suited our needs and we would stay there again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for your comments Cherie. :-)
We service occupied rooms every day so it wasn't necessary for you to ask for it to be done. On the contrary, if you DON'T want your room serviced, you need to hang the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    42
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

hi guys...the motel is not right on the main raod..its around 10-15 mins walk to the centre...there are lots of motels in christchurch n i suggest u really do ur homework before making a choice..
its advertised as free wifi, but then u realise that its not really free!, after 100mb each day any excess usage u have to pay!!
rooms are not big either...heaters are good and was working round the day...
unless u get it for a real bargain, its an overall thumbs down!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashantgvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
If this guest had booked his family into a family unit rather than the cheapest one he could find, he would've found his accommodation roomier. He seems to be implying that he's seen all our rooms - rather than just the one he occupied.
We offer free internet here - but there have to be limits. The cost of providing internet to some guests would be more than they've paid for the room. Who should pay for excessive use? The user? - or all guests through higher room rates?
It is true that Sherborne St is not the busiest street in Christchurch. People who like to sleep at night see this as an advantage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a Comfortable Bed! has all the sky channels!! felt right at home. Christchurch is a beautiful city! and this motel is so close to everything! Hagley park had amazing blossom trees! we managed to use there kitchen facillities and cooked every night! GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! room was serviced every day! the owners were very friendly and helpful!! will definelty be back!! ***** 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuklandWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for all your wonderful, positive comments. We try hard to treat people the way we like to be treated when we travel and we try to provide everything in our rooms that our clients might reasonably expect. We look forward to seeing you next time we stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau
Level Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Sherborne Motor Lodge when we returned from an overseas holiday. We arrived at 11am and were able to check into our room which was much appreciated after 10 hours in a plane. The room was warm and comfortable and all facilities are modern and clean. The Sherborne Motor Lodge is in a great location, a short walk to Merivale or the city centre, we found it to be very good value and the owners are very welcoming

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
We do try and go the "extra" mile with all our guests and it is great to see the positive comments.
Love the photo of your darling Pug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We had 5 very comfortable nights here. Rob was exceptionally helpful as we have a long vehicle and he kept a suitable parking spot for us each day. Due to bad weather we arrived late but he stayed open late and had put the heater on.
The unit was large, modern, comfortable and clean. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind and positive comments.
We do try and provide our guests with a great stay and take away fond memories.
It is high praise indeed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Good location but very simple lodge, basic for a few days stay. Clean and organized but with very hard beds and pillows, I cannot realize why to use so hard pillow. Good installations in the kitchen and bathroom and good TV channels selection.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Manager at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are a smallish lodge, but having said that I feel we are more than "basic".
We have features like Sky Guest Select, whereby you select any channel you wish, which not every motel provides. We also have a guest laundary with commercial washers and dryers.

Yes, our motor lodge is clean but there are soft pillows in the wardrobe.
Had we put soft pillows on the beds, people complain they are too soft, preferring hard ones..
I feel our units are very reasonably priced especially for the spa bath units.

Everones preference is different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Good distance from the airport, very well priced and very spacious. Couldn't fault the place as it was perfect as a one night stop before we began our road trip through the south island. It has a bath which is a bonus as well as a reasonable DVD collection free to borrow at the reception.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jadebianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm G, Owner at Sherborne Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks for your comments. It's nice to know when we get it right. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#97 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosewood Court Motel
Rosewood Court Motel
#52 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#65 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherborne Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherborne Motor Lodge

Property: Sherborne Motor Lodge
Address: 94 Sherborne Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherborne Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a variety of 4-star rated studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, close to the city yet quiet. All units self-contained with kitchen facilities, some have spa baths or baths. Centrally located for easy access to attractions and amenities.Close to public transport and very good restaurants. Off-street parking, wireless hotspot,Sky guest select with 50+ Channels and guest laundry facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherborne Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing