We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location but Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Comfort Motel
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Central Location but Loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked a 3 person place. It was up the stairs and right on the street side. There was one working heater for 2 rooms but there were electric blankets. There was a kitchenette and small table. When we asked about the advertised spa, we were told it was closed for construction. There was construction going on in the afternoon when we arrived and it started again around 8am. There was also a common laundry facility. We were allowed to leave our car in the parking lot after we checked out so we could walk around the city which was nice. The street lights were also visible through the curtains at night so the room did not get very dark. The traffic driving by the road side was also loud. It's ok for a night if you want to stay central.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    32
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
31
40
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Bit rough on the outside, but the price is right if you want no frills and a good location. Let's face it: Christchurch has had a rough go since the earthquake - and unfortunately this motel had its share of damage and two years later it apparently is still waiting for the insurance people to sort something out. Our door did not shut properly (skewed) allowing cold air in around the edges where one could see daylight from inside the room when the sun came up. Steps up to the second floor did not quite fit right with the balcony - I was a bit nervous going up until I thought it through - "This has been like this for two years and hasn't fallen down yet." My daughter had a bit of a fright when the door handle inside the toilet came off in her hand - of course we had a good laugh at her expense b/c she was trapped. All this may make Southern Comfort sound like a real dive, but the room itself was actually in pretty good shape otherwise and it was a comfortable sleep (but had to keep the heater going all night to stave off the cold from around the door). I actually would stay here again...but request a different room...as the price is right and for just a night passing through, price trumps other factors.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street - further back from the street you are, the significantly quieter it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Rooms feel a bit dated and can be noisy if you're at the front with Bealey Ave right outside. But the location is convenient, the owner is personable and they have complimentary wi-fi. Adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

they are considered 4 stars, but i don't know how. it's totally a fine place. good location and quiet. there was a nice little kitchen with utensils and even a french press coffee maker. but the place was dirty. stains on the carpet. linens were not very good. when i left my things at the desk before i left town, it was left out where anyone could just walk off with it. i can't recommend it, but if you just need to crash somewhere, this will do.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PENNsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

This motel is very tired and could do with a makeover. But the proprietor is really pleasant and maintains high standards despite the lack of re-investment. I would recommend that they replace the pillows ASAP and put a full set of wine glasses in the cupboard.

That being said it is a convenient location and close to Hagley Park.

Room Tip: Please note there is no fitness centre or restaurant, but I can't amend the ranking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
320 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel is not only badly in need of a facelift, it is also extremely noisy, particularly at night, where an endless stream of boy racers seem to be practicing racing starts at the traffic lights right outside the hotel from about midnight to 3 am most nights! Only think going for it is the rooms are clean & it is close to the centre.

Room Tip: Dont bother, there are far better motels in & around Christchurch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just across the road from the Knox Church and an easy walk to central Christchurch, and to Hagley Park. This isn't fancy and decor is a bit tired but friendly people and a reasonable pool, which was good for summer. Free wifi in 100MB blocks. Kitchen was fine, bathroom modest but OK - soap dispenser in the shower didn't work and the one cake of soap was tiny.

All in all fine for a Christchurch base.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_on_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#94 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Motel

Property: Southern Comfort Motel
Address: 53 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#47 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Comfort Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Comfort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing