We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strathern Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not recommended!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Definitely not recommended. The rooms were not serviced properly despite booking the room for a week, the office was only open between 9am and 6pm and when trying to access an invoice at the end of my stay they refused to give it to me on check out, instead telling me to put the keys through the cat door. On arrival I was not given any advice or information on local places to eat or other services that were provided and the welcome was less than warm and friendly. The parking was extremely difficult to get out of and the walls were paper thin. Have recommended that our organisation no longer books with them for corporate travel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebekah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
24
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twizel
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Using an online motel finder this was the last option available in Christchurch and I can see why. The ground floor units appeared to be populated with student who were doing what students do, partying. It was a mission trying to park the car, there seemed to be 2 vehicles to every room. Room was clean enough but the place is seriously overdue for redecorating and modernisation. The owners need to invest the windfall profits they are undoubtedly making on the back of the earthquakes in a big upgrade project. Hopefully this was my one and only stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I booked here due to reading the reviews, so I feel I was let down. I found the Shower hadnt been cleaned properly, which ruined totally my weekendbefore it started and the fridge didnt seem to be working properly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browne_nzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molloyfamily, Owner at Strathern Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
We acknowledge that occasionally small things slip through the system as everyone is human. Our standard of cleanliness is normally exceptionally high and we pride ourselves on this. In this case, as explained to the guest, we had been out of town for a few days at a funeral and not been in a position to check the units and unfortunately our motel minder had not checked the units. There were a couple of hairs left in the shower, which if the guest had pointed this out at the time, we certainly would have rectified. Our fridges are turned off and cleaned at each departure and in this case our cleaner forgot to turn it back on. Again, instead of waiting and complaining at the end we could have gone in and turned it on for her. The issues with this unit were discussed with the cleaner and she was given a verbal warning as we take every complaint very seriously. We apologised to the guest on departure but there is not much you can do after the fact. The situation regarding the cleaning will certainly not be repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Owners are so friendly and helpful, directed us to all the great places to dine and sightsee nothing was too much to ask. Services all conveniently located on site. Transport just out on the sidewalk, so handy to all amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed here after the earthquake and we needed a place to stay temporarily while we waited for our house to be inspected. Really accomodating hosts, very understanding and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms we stayed in were clean and serviced daily, location close to town and what's great it's pet friendly. Good place o stay!, recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotogunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The no refund policy will also apply to anyone not happy with the service or quality of the stay.The location being situated right next door to student accomodation can make for a very loud stay, if you like the sound of the walls bouncing base then perfect for you. Reception is not available after 10.30pm so any problems are yours for the night and once approach regarding any issues the staff may be quite unhelpfull. Oh well we stuck here for 3 more days now :-(

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stayed here with my family in July and found it to be perfect for a family, the units are quite large and although a bit dated everything was clean and comfortable. The owners are really friendly they even got our washing in one day when it started to rain! The first thai restaurant just down the road (the blue one) is also great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlyw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 144 in Christchurch
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Property: Strathern Motor Lodge
Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing