We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number One Place to stay in Christchurch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathern Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

If you are looking at a comfortable, clean motel that has every thing you need then you should definately pick the Strathern Lodge Motel.
My family, friends and I (4 Units) stayed at this motel when we where in town for the funeral of our mother. The owners were so accommodating and caring and nothing was to much trouble.
The decor and the paintings on the wall all blended in perfectly and I thought all the features were tasteful, modern and inviting.
I felt at home with the feel of the units and the hospitality shown and will definately stay at this motel again when next down in Christchurch.
Thanks guys for making us feel welcome and we will definately recommend you to anyone travelling your way.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Strathern Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Strathern Motel has provided peace of mind and great value during several visits over the last ten years. Even though ownership changed - the location, service, price and environment have always been excellent. My grown children have visited Christchurh on their own and stayed at the Strathern. I've stayed there by myself. Last July my wife, the younger children and I enjoyed eleven days there. One can walk into the heart of Christchurch from Strather's location on Papanui Road (20 min walk); or walk about five blocks to Merrivale Center for suburban shopping. Of course, one can catch the bus or hire a taxi to get around very readily too. We especially enjoyed the option of cooking light meals in our two-bedroom unit (four-burner stove with oven, microwave, pots/pans, pantry, small refrigerator) -- and we saved a small fortune by doing so. Indeed, we were able to visit the butcher shop and grocery store in Merrivale (walked there and back to Strathern with limited items) as necessary. Fabulous exercise for the whole family - much needed for the parents! Washer and dryer facilities on the premises. Newspaper every morning at our door! We also saved a small fortune by residing just outside Christchurch. All-in-all, an immersion in Christchurch suburban living - just a short walk away from city center. WiFi available too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamtans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed twice at the Strathern Motor Lodge and we found it a lovely place to stay. It was very central - easy walking distance to the centre of Christchurch. Everyone was so friendly. A must if staying in Christchurch

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Very clean and comfortable room, warm and with free wifi for our laptops. Hosts were lovely and couldn't have looked after us better. We didn't try the breakfasts but if the rest of our stay was anything to go by, I imagine they'd be great value and of top quality. Location is close to Merivale Mall, lots of restaurants and shops but is quiet and close to ChCh centre. Great to have free motel parking which saves a lot compared to centrally situated hotels. Definitely a real find and will use each time we travel to ChCh.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We arrived from Melbourne at 1.30am to our warm unit (they had left the heater and a light on for us). After our late night we were pleased to not be woken early in the morning by noise - very quiet location.
I could not fault this accommodation, spotlessly clean, service was great and friendly proprietors. Also in a good central location.
This is a family friendly motor lodge and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone for budget friendly accommodation. I would definitely stay there again if I found myself back in beautiful Christchurch.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AusiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank ViviLin0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
724 reviews
1.5 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#9 of 105 in Christchurch
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing