We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One Place to stay in Christchurch.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathern Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strathern Motor Lodge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Number One Place to stay in Christchurch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

If you are looking at a comfortable, clean motel that has every thing you need then you should definately pick the Strathern Lodge Motel.
My family, friends and I (4 Units) stayed at this motel when we where in town for the funeral of our mother. The owners were so accommodating and caring and nothing was to much trouble.
The decor and the paintings on the wall all blended in perfectly and I thought all the features were tasteful, modern and inviting.
I felt at home with the feel of the units and the hospitality shown and will definately stay at this motel again when next down in Christchurch.
Thanks guys for making us feel welcome and we will definately recommend you to anyone travelling your way.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
24
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Strathern Motel has provided peace of mind and great value during several visits over the last ten years. Even though ownership changed - the location, service, price and environment have always been excellent. My grown children have visited Christchurh on their own and stayed at the Strathern. I've stayed there by myself. Last July my wife, the younger children and I enjoyed eleven days there. One can walk into the heart of Christchurch from Strather's location on Papanui Road (20 min walk); or walk about five blocks to Merrivale Center for suburban shopping. Of course, one can catch the bus or hire a taxi to get around very readily too. We especially enjoyed the option of cooking light meals in our two-bedroom unit (four-burner stove with oven, microwave, pots/pans, pantry, small refrigerator) -- and we saved a small fortune by doing so. Indeed, we were able to visit the butcher shop and grocery store in Merrivale (walked there and back to Strathern with limited items) as necessary. Fabulous exercise for the whole family - much needed for the parents! Washer and dryer facilities on the premises. Newspaper every morning at our door! We also saved a small fortune by residing just outside Christchurch. All-in-all, an immersion in Christchurch suburban living - just a short walk away from city center. WiFi available too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamtans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed twice at the Strathern Motor Lodge and we found it a lovely place to stay. It was very central - easy walking distance to the centre of Christchurch. Everyone was so friendly. A must if staying in Christchurch

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

Very clean and comfortable room, warm and with free wifi for our laptops. Hosts were lovely and couldn't have looked after us better. We didn't try the breakfasts but if the rest of our stay was anything to go by, I imagine they'd be great value and of top quality. Location is close to Merivale Mall, lots of restaurants and shops but is quiet and close to ChCh centre. Great to have free motel parking which saves a lot compared to centrally situated hotels. Definitely a real find and will use each time we travel to ChCh.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

We arrived from Melbourne at 1.30am to our warm unit (they had left the heater and a light on for us). After our late night we were pleased to not be woken early in the morning by noise - very quiet location.
I could not fault this accommodation, spotlessly clean, service was great and friendly proprietors. Also in a good central location.
This is a family friendly motor lodge and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone for budget friendly accommodation. I would definitely stay there again if I found myself back in beautiful Christchurch.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortalbe.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AusiKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Property: Strathern Motor Lodge
Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing