We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful start to our holiday”
Review of Holly Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Manor
Ranked #54 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
north yorkshire, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful start to our holiday”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at Holly Manor for two nights at the start of our holiday on the South Island.

After a very long flight, Kelly could not have been more welcoming. Her home is beautiful and is kept spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Elizabethan room, which was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. Use of a computer and wifi was useful. Breakfast was excellent with cereals, fresh fruit as well as a choice of cooked items.

Located in a quiet suburb with a beautiful garden to sit in, Holly Manor is a lovely place to stay yet only a 20 minute walk into the city or Botanical Gardens and a 10 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Holly Manor ticks many of the boxes for a B and B in that it is well situated, the rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean and the breakfast is adequate. We didn't develop any wonderful rapport with our host who seemed a little distracted, but we were only there for a night.
Can't disagree with the wonderful reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The only negative i can think about for this place is that we could only stay the night, having to get the train to Greymouth the next day. About a ten minute cab ride from Christchurch train station, the B and B is situated a short walk to the shops and restaurants of Merivale, thriving due to the fact the CBD is largely closed. The house itself is a large period cottage with a pretty rose garden. We stayed in the Elizabethan room which was large and airy, and the decor throughout reminded me of an old English manor. Beautiful! Free WiFi and guest computer was a nice touch, and there is a reading room for guests to relax and enjoy a variety of books, magazines, DVDs and boardgames. A cooked breakfast is also provided as part of the room rate but sadly we weren't able to try due to leaving early. Thankfully on check-in our host kindly invited us to help ourselves to the continental breakfast options even though we were leaving before breakfast began. Would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
451 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Can't think of a single negative - except perhaps that because Holly Manor is such a pleasure to stay in, it is difficult to get a booking! Lovely character house, pleasant service, nice breakfast, comfortable beds, attractive and relaxing gardens and verandah, nice sitting room for guests to use, excellent value. There is no offstreet parking, which may be an issue for some guests but was no problem for us as the street is wide, and nearby spaces for us to leave our car were plentiful. We could not fault Holly Manor on cleanliness and the attention to detail is especially impressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The B&B is charming and full of character, situated on the edge on Christchurch city and survived the EQ. I instantly fell in love with this place.
Rooms were very clean and each had it’s own personal touch. We stayed in both the Victorian room (which is slightly small) and the Tudor room (which is bigger with private access through the patio and the lovely garden). Free Wifi.
Breakfast is great and Kelly will prepare this according to a time suitable to us. She really took care of us.
Kelly was a wonderful host. We had to extend our stay and Kelly was very accommodating. She even did our laundry for a reasonable price.

Overall excellent stay. I will never want to stay in a hotel in Christchurch again after discovering this oasis. Thoroughly recommended and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am_gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

We were scheduled to arrive well after midnight on our flight from Australia and were afraid that we would have to settle for a bland airport motel. Holly Manor is a charming and beautifully restored Victorian home and our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. The Victorian room was perfect for our short stay with comfortable bed, clean ensuite bathroom and wifi. Breakfast is served in a pretty sun filled dining room supplied with current local newspapers. Holly Manor is easy to find, - even late at night - a short drive from airport and city center but in a quiet residential neighborhood. We felt lucky to be able to experience a little bit of Christchurch history in this unique and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I visited Christchurch and stayed 2 nights in the Elizabethan room, a large luxurious room with a queen bed, a bay window looking out to the garden, and an adjoining bath with tub & shower. There were complimentary cookies waiting for us when we arrived. The house has a porch with chairs looking out on a pleasant, peaceful garden. We also enjoyed the morning sun shining into the well appointed lounge that was amply supplied with DVD's that we could watch in our room, as well as books. The hosts were pleasant and breakfast was promptly served at our selected time in a very pleasant dining area. The breakfasts were nicely prepared and I complemented the host on the very nice mushroom omelette I was served. On the second morning the poached eggs were equally nice. The only slight inconvenience was that the wireless internet connection in the room to my Acer netbook (laptop) was quite weak - however, my laptop generally requires a strong signal. I would recommend this spot to anyone wishing a very peaceful stay in a pleasant environment.

Room Tip: The Elizabethan room is very large and on the quiet garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#66 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 132 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Manor

Property: Holly Manor
Address: 27 Holly Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 from native New Zealand Kauri, Christchurch’s newest boutique bed and breakfast has been fastidiously restored to its former glory with an added contemporary feel to bring all the facilities expected of a five star accommodation. The tranquil environment has been designed to have all the amenities of the home and the office. Luxury surroundings ensure that your stay, whether for business or pleasure, is one to be remembered. The refurbishment of the property has incorporated all the luxuries, facilities and amenitied expected of a five star accommodation, including LCD TV’s, sky, internet, private lounge and dining area, free wifi and business services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing