We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't do better than this”
Review of Holly Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Manor
Ranked #73 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to have the pleasure of staying at Holly Manor for two nights on a recent trip to NZ, and what a wonderful start to our holiday it was. Because our flight was going to get us into Christchurch around midnight, Kelly, the owner, communicated several times with us by email, sending clear directions (including several photographs!) as to how to let ourselves in on arrival. Holly Manor is a beautiful, large, old, but very tastefully modernised, house and our room, the Tudor Room, was a delight. Plush ambience, excellent facilities, bed made for deep dreams and a peaceful night's sleep, outlook onto a lovely garden. Breakfast in the morning (the capable and attractive Kelly was up well before 7.00am to get us away early on day two) was beautifully home cooked with a very generous choice. We felt that New Zealand's glowing reputation for looking after its tourists was absolutely epitomised by this lovely B & B. Location, by the way is only about 15 mins from the airport and a pleasant stroll into the town centre. If we get a chance to return to Christchurch this is where we'll definitely be staying.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tudor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Christchurch was our first destination in our 16-night holiday on the south island and Holly's was one of the best places we stayed. Our bedroom had a lovely view of the garden, a separate bathroom and very comfortable bed. We really liked the touch with all the board games. Breakfast was great. We ordered the omelette and it was very tasty. The couple we ate had a very generously proportioned breakfast with the works. We were most jealous. Holly's is also a short 10-15-minute walk to the Botanical Gardens, and a similar length drive to the airport. I could not rate this place more highly. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopytunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Enjoying somewhere new is all about expectations. And with Holly Manor it exceeded all of our expectations. We had booked one night in the Victorian Room, then we later sought to make it 2 nights. Because of other bookings the only option was to take the Tudor Room which was at a higher rate. When we arrived our host, Kelly, indicated that owing to a cancellation we would have the Tudor Room for the 2 consecutive nights and pay no premium. That was our first pleasant surprise. For the rest the location is excellent - quiet suburban street, a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Christchurch, 5 minute walk to excellent restaurants in Papanui Rd. The breakfast was a real treat. And just the ambience of the house and garden is something to be envied. Most importantly, Kelly, our host, was most welcoming and warm. We would be very surprised if other travellers had any different experiences.

Room Tip: The Tudor and Elizabethan rooms are definitely worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hieronymus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Cannot say enough good things about holly manor and the very friendly and informative owner. Everything has been thought of and the room we had was very luxurious. The area is very close to many good restaurants and it is straight forwards to go into Christchurch.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Cannot say enough good things about the Tudor room and the manor. Spacious, quiet, beautifully appointed details, modern amenities, comfortable bed, kind owner and delicious breakfast We had a wonderful stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jinmansw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at Holly Manor for two nights at the start of our holiday on the South Island.

After a very long flight, Kelly could not have been more welcoming. Her home is beautiful and is kept spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Elizabethan room, which was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. Use of a computer and wifi was useful. Breakfast was excellent with cereals, fresh fruit as well as a choice of cooked items.

Located in a quiet suburb with a beautiful garden to sit in, Holly Manor is a lovely place to stay yet only a 20 minute walk into the city or Botanical Gardens and a 10 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Holly Manor ticks many of the boxes for a B and B in that it is well situated, the rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean and the breakfast is adequate. We didn't develop any wonderful rapport with our host who seemed a little distracted, but we were only there for a night.
Can't disagree with the wonderful reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Manor

Address: 27 Holly Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 from native New Zealand Kauri, Christchurch’s newest boutique bed and breakfast has been fastidiously restored to its former glory with an added contemporary feel to bring all the facilities expected of a five star accommodation. The tranquil environment has been designed to have all the amenities of the home and the office. Luxury surroundings ensure that your stay, whether for business or pleasure, is one to be remembered. The refurbishment of the property has incorporated all the luxuries, facilities and amenitied expected of a five star accommodation, including LCD TV’s, sky, internet, private lounge and dining area, free wifi and business services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing