We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A great way to get a feel for Christchurch'”

Christchurch Tramway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.70*
and up
Christchurch Hop-On Hop-Off Tram
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on board one of our heritage trams for an entertaining and informative tour of the inner city! Use the trams to explore must-see attractions including the Canterbury Museum, Botanic Gardens, the Re:START container mall and New Regent Street. Your ticket is valid for one day and allows you to jump on and off the trams as you please. Tickets are available from the Tram Drivers and Tram Hosts, or from the Tram Shop in Cathedral Junction. Welcome aboard!
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived this morning after a long flight from the UK. Well after travelling on the tram, a warm welcome from the driver, beautifully preserved trams, great commentary about rebuild and other landmarks. A lovely experience to get your bearings and to feel the support of the people of Christchurch to rebuild their city.

3  Thank Suegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Thank you for visiting our attraction (especially straight after such a long trip here), and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on the trams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hop on hop"
in 149 reviews
"tram driver"
in 89 reviews
"day pass"
in 37 reviews
"your bearings"
in 41 reviews
"inner city"
in 51 reviews
"running commentary"
in 32 reviews
"great commentary"
in 30 reviews
"city tour"
in 24 reviews
"regent street"
in 30 reviews
"per adult"
in 22 reviews
"cathedral square"
in 32 reviews
"points of interest"
in 15 reviews
"post earthquake"
in 17 reviews
"restart mall"
in 16 reviews
"earthquake damage"
in 19 reviews
"great trip"
in 17 reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 25 reviews
Filter

1,580 - 1,584 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great experience. Although damaged in the earthquakes well worth seeing the city this way. They are working hard to get it up and running again.

4  Thank daer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking our Tram trip! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the experience, and yes we are working very hard to extend our route later in the year. We hope you can experience our new route once it opens! Thank you for reviewing our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was good for a ride around the town but the route was too short since it was affected by the Earthquake :(

4  Thank Theodore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We hope you enjoyed your time on the Tram! The route is a bit shorter than it used to be due to some demolition and construction taking place along Armagh Street, but we are looking forward to getting the all clear to extend our tracks at the end of this year. Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have visited Christchurch several times over the years, but never taken the tram. Pre-kids, we loved walking into town from the gardens (we would park at the gardens and walk in).

However, now with kids, we saw it and thought it might be worth a go. It was great. Lovely commentary, and chance to see through as far as we could. We travelled in from the end of the line at the museum and went for a walk around the shops / where the shipping container stores are (can't recall the name).

$10 for adults, free for kids, can use it all day. great way to see and support the town.

3  Thank brisbane_familyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we are glad to hear you and your children enjoyed your tram trip! Thanks for visiting our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

$10 each and children travel free - so an affordable activity and it has the advantage of a good commentary on the city. You can get on and off as often as you like or just ride the tram up and down. Admittedly it is a short route due to the rebuild but you still feel you get good value as the tram driver shares information and stories about the city. We had the added bonus of having the Wizard riding on the tram at the same time as us - so two Christchurch icons for the price of one!

3  Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Tramway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy you enjoyed your time on the tram and that you were able to meet one of the Christchurch wizards! Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to review our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Tramway also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing