We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recomended.”
Review of Adorian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adorian Motel
Ranked #92 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not recomended.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

found the staff unfriendly more interested in getting our money than helping late arriving travelers.parking is very limited and our room was upstairs by a old wooded stair case . This was the lowest standard motel we stayed at. Room was reasonable size and clean .wife did not like the bed neither did I.Very old needs upgrading as not all the rooms can be used.I did walk into town from there. Wi Fi at charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogergary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beringen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Nothing much to tell...what you need is there, and that is about all to say about this rather boring, basic motel. Good for those on limited budget. We found that food and groceries were in the neighborhood but with limited choice available. The place is clean and the lady very supportive though.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this cosy place. Its small but well maintained, kitchen is self sufficient and the hostess is very friendly. The location is central with grocery stores, restaurants and the city center located very close by. It is value for money and I highly recommend this place to families planning a trip with budget in mind

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon, as a cheap crash pad before flying home the next day. We stayed in unit 8, which is upstairs.

Positives:
The motel is within walking distance of the city centre, not right on the doorstep but still close enough if you have a bit of time up your sleeve. There is free onsite parking as well as plentiful street parking. There is a supermarket, an ATM and some takeaway outlets around the corner (including a very good fish & chip shop). The rooms are equipped with everything you need, including a kitchen, and the heater kept us nice and warm at night. Everything seemed to be clean. The staff were very helpful, although the office was unattended when we were going to check out (at 10am).

Negatives:
I don't want to be too harsh but I need to make some honest observations. When we first got up to our room, my first impression was 'dark and dingy'. The room had an unpleasant musty smell, and the fittings and furniture were very shabby, dated and unappealing. The bed sagged in the middle and so did the floorboards under the vinyl floor in the bathroom. The street was very quiet but not exactly in the nicest part of town.

Overall:
I would be reluctant to stay here again, mainly because the rooms were so unappealing. We stayed at 14 different hotels/motels on our trip and this one was my least favourite. The motel could use a major refurbishment or redecoration to make it more appealing to customers. It's probably fine if you want a cheap place near the city, but I would actually be willing to stay further out next time in order to get a nicer room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReadyForMyNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I've stayed at the Adorian Motel since my parents first took me to New Zealand back in 1990. It doesn't claim to be anything more than a nice cheap motel close to town. I love the location of the Adorian which is close to the centre of Christchurch. The rooms are clean yet basic for the standard traveler.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 145 in Christchurch
1,821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#71 of 145 in Christchurch
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 103 in Christchurch
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#133 of 145 in Christchurch
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gothic Heights Motel
Gothic Heights Motel
#101 of 145 in Christchurch
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adorian Motel

Property: Adorian Motel
Address: 347 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adorian Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing