We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Aotea Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotea Motel
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Old place, bit overpriced and rooms not very well laid out, but clean and location ok

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliMoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Tidy clean motel We stayed three nights in an upstairs unit Roger was very helpful and even parked our trailor of gear in his garage on the last night

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyholsinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for the night in a family of 7. We were given two rooms which were on the ground floor. While the property looks rather old, worn out and rather depressing - the kitchen and rooms were clean and comfortable if you are just stopping over in Christchurch for a short stay or layover. The surroundings looked pretty eerie. A dilapidated house which looks like it is about to collapse stood next door and pavement outside the motel had cracks all over. Perhaps due to the previous earthquake (prior to December 2011) of aftershocks. Funnily enough, we left the next morning for Sydney, 48 hours before the 23 December 2011 earthquake hit Christchurch.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemstar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed there in a family of 9 persons(included 2 old folks & 1 child) & booking made thru booking.com. When we arrived, there is no booking made for one of the two bedroom. The owner simply offer another room right opposite the hotel but the room were even suck & his attitute were terrible(maybe because we are asean??). This is the worst stay i ever had in my NZ trips even is just ONE night(that is my last night stay in NZ), their room are too small and not comfortable for family stay. Once enter the room there is one kingsize bed at your living area?? and another seperate bedroom. Is not value for money!!!!

Room Tip: 298 Westside Motor Lodge is much better to stay. Compare the pricing, room size, location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murphyliew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Do not judge Motel by external design. Internal studios are roomy, spotlessly clean with well equipped kitchen facilities. On busy road but not noisy.Owner/ manager very pleasant & helpful as experienced throughout our 2 trips around N.Z. Very good value in a city that has a shortage of vacancies following earthquake. Can recommend. Handy to lovely Merivale shopping arcade. Say 1.25 kms by car.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We arrived about 3 hours earlier than the check in time of 2pm and the owner was very welcoming and our room was ready. The studio we had was clean and very spacious for the two of us. It was a lovely short walk down the river to the city centre - which we enjoyed. The kitchen was well equipped and it was nice to have a seperate room for the kitchen, living area and bedroom - which we didn't get in the other motels that we stayed in. It was handy to be able to leave the bedroom when I was awake with jet lag in the middle of the night and be able to sit in the living area and watch tv without waking my husband. Would definately recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKBRVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the first floor of the Aotea. The units are quite spacious and the place is extremely affordable. You are provided a tv, micro, gas, etc and the one bedroom unit can easily accommodate 3 people. The staff was also quite helpful with suggestions on how best we could utilise our 1 day in Christchurch. Only drawback - The motel is kind of far from the cathedral area and hence taking your car to the city center might be required.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motel

Address: 302 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aotea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aotea Motel has 10 apartment style units available at reasonable prices, studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom & interconnecting units all located close to the CBD. Just a 5 - 10 minute walk gets you into our lovely city following the gorgeous Avon River. Handy to supermarket, restaurant & cafes within minutes or venture into the city for lots of other choices. Our friendly, hospitable home away from home awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Aotea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing