We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Belle Bonne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belle Bonne Motel
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We only stayed here as we’d been double booked at our original motel due to the volume of EQ workers that had to be accommodated, and this was the only place in town that had a 2 bed unit available. The owner seemed indifferent to us and said when trade picks up he’ll be selling up and moving on, not a great introduction.

The rooms were spacious and extremely clean but oh my goodness they are so stuck in a 70’s time warp apart from the TV which looked like it was brand new. However the surprise was the beds, they were really comfy.

If you are happy to drive everywhere then the location is OK but if you like to walk to restaurants in the evening then this was too far out.

In summary, an OK stay but overpriced in view of the dated rooms and edge of town location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinner19_12, Owner at Belle Bonne Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We thank you for your comments, particularly the ones on our cleanliness and our comfy beds.
We receive many favourable comments on thos two topics which are the two most important issues concerning travellers. We are sorry you found our motel dated, we are Qualmark rated 3 Star plus and never advertise to be '' above our station ''. As we were the last 2 b/m motel available, I'm not sure why you are downgrading us. As to the conversation with you , re our plans for the future, I may have to be a little more circumspect with customers in the future. Some love to talk and others just want to do their own thing and we respect that..

Geoff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Great spot handy to the city and malls, but very tired needs a major revamp all the units seem to be the same as when they were built 20-30 years ago apart from new tvs. Not a place we would stay again, far better value closer to town. Maybe a smile from the owner now and again would help also.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzmanj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff N, Owner at Belle Bonne Motel, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
This reply is rather late , but have just started to reply to some. We are sorry you found our tariffs too high , but are chuffed at your compliment of saying we only look 20 to 30 years old when in fact the buildings are 50 years old this year. We have been upgrading rooms one by one , and wonder how you can comment on all 10 of our appartments without inspecting all 10 of them.
As you get closer to the CBD the newer motels will cost you more, but we only advertise 3 Star Plus Qualmark rated. Sorry about the lack of a smile, somedays we have a million things on our mind, what with running a business 7/24.

Geoff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Belle Bonne Motel for 5 nights during my stay in Christchurch. Geoff and his wife were fantastic and helped me with everything i needed.
Never having been to NZ before, i was told how to get around, where to eat, so they were part travel guide to me also. Geoff drove me to the tranzalpine train station, and even organised my rental car from Greymouth where the train ends. So from alighting the train, i had a smooth transition to my rental car, where someone was waiting for me, sign in hand to guide me to my rental vehicle. The rooms were exceptionally clean, and were cleaned daily, there are laundary facilities, which not all places have...last thing i want is to take my laundary to a laundromat in town, everything was taken care off, even complimentary milk for coffee, where at other more expensive places they do not offer this. And i found the smaller things always matter the most. A big thanks to Geoff and his wife for providing a home away from home. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garth101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We arrived in New Zealand on the 20th March at around 1-15 am.
The room was neat and tidy , with a continental breakfast placed in the room before we arrived.
This was all pre-arranged , by one quick phone call from Australia 3 weeks before we arrived.
They even asked which jam we liked. . A little bit of service goes a long way.
The rooms , even though a little dated, still were exceptionally clean and warm.
The bed was also really comfortable.
Left at 8-00am for Wanaka.
Check out was simple as just dropping the key into the office.
When we were there, the owners were on holidays, buit whoever they left holding the fort did a great job.
We were pleased with our short stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We have stayed here previously, and enjoy it here immensely. It is very laid back and Geoff and Heather go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing is a problem and it is a very friendly atmosphere. Nice spacious units that are kept impeccably clean, with lovely open lawn areas. Centrally situated, close to town, airport, and racecourse. We love it here and will be back again next year. Keep the gas bottle full for the BBQ Geoff

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidemarshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Geoff the host was superb. From the time I made the booking Geoff followed up with a phone call. Already the NZ experience was happening.
We arrived late and all was in good order and warm, electric blankets on and very homely.

From the arrival to the departure you welcomed us giving us a great feel for NZ.

Well done!

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank BelleBonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Comfortable spacious rooms. Travelling with 3 teenage sons and so needed plenty of room. Well appointed, clean accomodation at very reasonable rates. Close to airport and shopping centres.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.5 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#53 of 144 in Christchurch
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
#124 of 144 in Christchurch
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Bonne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Bonne Motel

Property: Belle Bonne Motel
Address: 95 Yaldhurst Road | Avonhead, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belle Bonne Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belle Bonne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing