We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chardonnay Motor Lodge
Ranked #94 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My mum and I stayed here at the beginning, and end, of our NZ holiday in November 2007 (had to select 2011 as dates didn't go back that far). Located not too far from the airport with a lovely winery next door. Very quiet and homely with views of farmland all around. The drive to Christchurch is about 15-20 mins from what I remember. The accomodation was clean and tidy and staff very friendly. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacintaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Chardonnay Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Friendly service, great location near the airport and near the motorway to head north.
Our flight did not arrive until later at night and that was not a problem, room numbers and location were sorted through the day with a phone call. Thanks for the pleasant stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offthefarm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked the Chardonnay based on reviews here and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation comfortable, bathroom very clean and the service friendly. Two thumbs up for the free wi-fi, something bigger establishments could learn from.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights and excellent. Lovely surroundings, nice grounds, helpful hosts and modern well-equipped unit. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights, found the one bedroom units at front a little to noisy with the main road, back studio units are perfect if road noise effects you(stayed in studio for 2 nights out of 3), lovely hosts, nice grounds, handy to the lovely groynes. Will stay again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Excellent place to stay - {stayed in 3 bedroom townhouse for 3 nights} Exceptional gardens for kids to play in - love the grass!!! Trampoline for the kids & bikes for all - outstanding rides through 'The Groynes' - we rode every evening. No road noise although the townhouse is away from the main road. Very easy to find when driving from the airport - actually thought it would be further away. Close to shops & huge shopping mall - Northlands. Had great discounted meal at Harrington's {HUGE serves} as we were staying at this Motor Lodge.
Very friendly owners , happy to help with anything - have heaps of DVDs & info about Christchurch, international phone calls very reasonable from phone in townhouse. Had quite a few tremors while there but nothing too scary - kids actually 'enjoyed' this experience!!! Very sad to leave would definitely stay here again. Other highlights - Akaroa, Antarctic Centre, Governor's Bay & The Pier. I would urge EVERYONE to go Christchurch & support the recovery of this amazing place with beautiful people.

Room Tip: Only stayed in 3 bedroom townhouse but imagine this would be quieter than other room - although the...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Chardonnay Motel lodge is conveniently placed for people with their own transport, not far from the airport but also "far enough" (?? 6 to 8 km's ?? so there is NO aircraft noise... plus there is a free airport shuttle available in need), and just off the main "through-route" for travellers. There is a lovely restaurant immediately adjacent which we used for a family dinner (charming hostess and staff, good for a lunch or dinner), also a lovely HUGE park area (for the energetic, bikes are available for a ride), and major shops are approx. 2 km's away. This facility has (so far) been safe from any effects of the earthquakes. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The Hostess is most charming and very helpful. For those who are very sensitive to noise, request the rooms away from the road- these look out onto lovely open lawns and gardens (with the park a bit further on). There is a range of accommodation to suit different size 'families'. We will certainly use this lodge next time round!

Room Tip: Less noise-tolerant? = ask for a garden-facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pohcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
5.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,891 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
319 Addington Motel
319 Addington Motel
#19 of 134 in Christchurch
30 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#57 of 146 in Christchurch
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Peppers Clearwater Resort
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chardonnay Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Address: 170 Johns Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chardonnay Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star modern complex set in spacious grounds with large lawns & gardens on SH1. .Just 8 minutes from Christchurch Airport and 20 minutes from central city. . 8 minutes from International Antarctica Centre •A few minutes drive from Willowbank Wildlife Reserve •McLeans Island & Orana Park nearby •Adjacent to Rosebank Winery (Functions, Weddings and Conferences) •Next to Groynes recreational reserve - a 10 hectare park with childrens playgrounds, walkways, dog park and lakes •Closest motel to Clearwater Golf Resort •Close to Harewood Crematorium •Close to car and campervan rentals •5 minutes drive from local restaurants, supermarkets, fuel station and takeaways (Pizza and Indian deliveries available to motel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chardonnay Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing