We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night,”
Review of Christchurch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christchurch Motel
Ranked #97 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
lakeland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OK for a night,”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The motel is well located on Riccation road and easy access in to the city, however as such it is very noisy! there is a cornershop across the road, which sell's essentials, and its a 15/20 min stroll down to Hagley Park, which takes you past a number of restaurants and a shopping mall enroute.
The unit was a two bedroomed 1st floor, apartment with a small kitchen, the bathroom was adequate, but dated with blistered and crumbling plaster work evident on the corner of the bath. i suspect any one with any mobility issues would find it a stuggle to climb into bath as the shower is over the bath, and any one over 5'8'' has to bend over to wet/was their hair.........
The bed linen was old, and slightly discoloured.........im not a fan of bedspreads as these never get taken off and washed..........the one on my bed was grubby and stained.....not nice!
The furniture was dated, but functional. ome of the window catches are broken, so it proved difficult to secure the windows.
I felt the cost of staying here was on the expensive side for what was included...which was the room, tea and coffee was available in the room in recylced jars, with no clue as to how old they were! complementory milk is offered/ provided which is a nice touch. Breakfast is available as an extra.

Room Tip: All the rooms/ units are centered around a yard, which direct access on to Riccarton road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chchmotel, Owner at Christchurch Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. All your comments are noted. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms over a period and a number of your issues will be and are being addressed. New bedspreads, new furniture, carpets and flooring are all part of the process and we hope to have quite a few more units done this year although our earthquake claim is proving a slight hindrance as a time delay.
We use fresh coffee in the jars rather than the packet coffee so often used. Most people find the coffee a better taste and I assure you the jars are checked and filled daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    35
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived after 30 hour flight and found just what we needed to recover from jet lag. We are a family and it was nice to have a small kitchen with milk provided.
The location was on the bus line to city center and near good shopping for food and sim cards

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chchmotel, Owner at Christchurch Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your comments - appreciated - we trust the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Pity the earthquakes happened - otherwise this might have been a even better stay. The motel clearly suffered some damage that is still not fixed - not the owners fault though - we all know that insurance companies don't work that fast.

So - we had a few cracks in the ceiling and a water leak from under the fridge that apparently was due to earthquake damage, the heater still worked but was a bit "touchy" the same for the front door.

We booked a one bedroom unit for 3 people - however - it was very cramped - so one of us actually moved his bedding out into the lounge (there was another bed but not set up). The double bed was rather soft (most motel beds in NZ are).

Everything was clean though if just a little cramped.. as far as motels go - this one could do with a bit less spacious lounge/bathroom but a bit more in the bedroom and kitchen but I guess that is not really possible.

Along Riccarton Road however one can easily find restaurants for dinner and it is not to far to either the city (what's left of it) or the airport.

If you do go into Christchurch - Do support local businesses - they are struggling and trying to re-built not just their city but also their lives.

Room Tip: Try for a larger two bedroom if you are more than two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chchmotel, Owner at Christchurch Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your review. The earthquake and has created a bit of damage but the claim is progressing and hopefully those cracks etc will be gone shortly. Looks like it will happen within the next few months. The one bedroom unit has a queen and a single bed in the bedroom but the single bed can be moved out and we often do that making the room larger. We left it in this time as there were 3 of you and we thought 3 beds were needed. The bed in the lounge was made up - it just had the cover on - sorry we didn't explain that clearly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed one night here. The room and ensuite were clean and tidy. The kitchen was very cramped with the two ring hotplate stowed on top of the microwave. The bed was comfortable enough, but so low that I had problems getting to my feet. However the electric blanket on my wife's side had been left on when the bed was made up, so she was initially roasted on a warm spring night The two chairs were so low that I literally could not get out of them without assistance, so had to stand to eat breakfast. Do not rely on the small dairy across the road to obtain breakfast - we could only get bread, marg and bacon there.
The motel takes Flybuys so the price was OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in Christchurch Motel at the end of our holiday in New Zealand. That was in February 2012. The motel staff were really helpful and friendly. I was surprised to see the room we booked, it was a spacious apartment with room, bath and a big living area and kitchenette. It was exceptionally clean and the kitchen were well equipped. Although the motel was situated by the main road, and the room was by the last unit by the road, it was really quiet. It was situated near a few restaurants (within walking distance) and shopping area. Would love to stay here again. And I would certainly recommend this place to anyone visiting Christchurch. Its very comfortable, clean and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The owners of this motel picked us up from the airport one night, delivered us to the TranzCoastal train the next morning, and provided us with great facilities and a good breakfast in the interim. Next time in Christchurch this is where we stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Unit was ok, certainly nothing spectacular. The whole place could do with a good spring clean and re vamp.

Room was tidy but the bathroom and some fixtures and fittings needed a good clean and a moldy ceiling in the bathroom.

Riccarton Rd has definitely got busies but the units on the road definitely get the traffic noise.

Heater in the bedroom was bloody noisy also!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#73 of 145 in Christchurch
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#87 of 145 in Christchurch
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#20 of 145 in Christchurch
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#62 of 145 in Christchurch
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
0.3 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#40 of 145 in Christchurch
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Motel

Property: Christchurch Motel
Address: 252 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christchurch Motel's convenient location is within walking distance of two major shopping centres, Canterbury University and many Restaurants. We offer comfortable accommodation and a commitment to good service that extends from a warm friendly greeting to an immediate hands-on response to our guests needs. The Christchurch Motel's location places it central to the airport, city centre, hospitals, the Botanical Gardens, Horncastle Arena the new AMI Stadium (home of Super and International rugby) We are also very close to wide range of dining options, movie theaters and an extensive range of shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing