We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christchurch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Christchurch Motel
Ranked #96 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Disappointing location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Our party of four stayed two nights in this motel and, to be honest, I messed up. The location is poor, too far out of the city yet not in the countryside. Located on the busy Riccarton Road, to the west of Christchurch this motel suffers from road noise, not compensated for by features or interest. I have no complaints about the facilities, which were adequate but not inspiring -value for money was ok but there is better out there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

just got to the airport and after much hassle finally picked up the car and made our way to the motel in peak hour traffic! Arrived safely to the motel where we found the quick and very accommodating owner who was speaking in French to some other guests and then helped us to our rooms by taking us directly into the units. We were able to relax around the gazebo with a lovely cup of tea after what seemed to be a stressful start to our vacation in the South Island. The units were very well equipped in the kitchen, bedding was very comfortable, smelled and looked extremely clean. The owner had very good knowledge of what to see and do in and around Christchurch, excellent for us because we weren't sure of what to do. The next morning they brought us breakfast, what a treat!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wantok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

We arrived at the motel at approximatly 12.30am and we found a key at reception when we arrived. We could smell the cleanliness in the room as soon as we walked in the door. We felt like we were at home. Terry and Marina our hosts gave us fantastic hospitality i will definatly be going back.
HIGHLY RECOMENDED

  • Liked — Our Hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

We booked this motel on advice from the travel agent.

We were a little shell shocked when we arrived in Christchurch as we had 'lost' 3 hrs from Queensland Australia and arrived in afternoon peak.

Alo we had changed climate from 30C (Brisbane) to 15C (Christchurch).

The motel was a very pleasant and comfortable place. The owners were verry accommodating with advice and the room was comfortable and had nice little touches such as plunger coffee and satchets of hot chocolate.

Would recommend in the future and are booked in again for our last night before we return to Australia.

  • Liked — Little touches like to plunger coffee
  • Disliked — Distance from the town square
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

The motel room was very clean, however it was very cold. We were there in the winter, and they supply you with an oil heater that struggles to keep the room warm. An electric blanket is also provided which is great when you're in the bed...but when you're not, be prepared to hang around in a sweater/jumper.

We also had problems when checking in because we booked and payed for the room online and did not receive a voucher - which was essential to confirm payment. The lady at the motel told us that even though we had a receipt number, we needed a voucher otherwise we would have to pay her again.We managed to sort it out and didn't end up having to pay double...but be wary about this if you're booking via the web.

The location is good - close to many shops and restaurants and about a 10 min drive from the city centre. The road is also frequented by many buses.

A microwave and kettle are provided, as well as complimentary milk, tea and coffe - which was good.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2005

I stayed there for 3 nights with my family at the end of Aug, 2005.

A nice little motel conveniently located near some cheap takeaways - a little bit of a walk to the nearest mall, though. Nice place if you have a car/vehicle to go about Christchurch.

The room was clean and complete with everything we might need to use in the kitchenette incl cutlery and cooking utensils. The rooms were cleaned with utmost efficiency everyday. The beds have heaters which were nice during the cold nights. The room heater was small but did the job. The bathroom sink needs mixers (I live in Malaysia where it is always hot!) so we ended up brushing our teeth at the kitchen sink instead. Heated towel rack was nice.

The caretakers were very friendly and helpful - probably the BEST thing about the motel!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EncikAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#83 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#15 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
#11 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#101 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#11 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#40 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Motel

Property: Christchurch Motel
Address: 252 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christchurch Motel's convenient location is within walking distance of two major shopping centres, Canterbury University and many Restaurants. We offer comfortable accommodation and a commitment to good service that extends from a warm friendly greeting to an immediate hands-on response to our guests needs. The Christchurch Motel's location places it central to the airport, city centre, hospitals, the Botanical Gardens, Horncastle Arena the new AMI Stadium (home of Super and International rugby) We are also very close to wide range of dining options, movie theaters and an extensive range of shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Christchurch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing