We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annabelle Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annabelle Court Motel
Ranked #82 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for a week in a comfortable 1 bedroom apartment - with the very sensible arrangement of the two single beds in the bedroom, so that the grown-ups get the kitchen/lounge/TV space after the kids are in bed. The room itself was fine, but a little tired and worn - some peeling laminate, broken shelf in the fridge. Comfortable beds though, and just enough room for two adults and two kids. The location is great - in post-earthquake Chch, Riccarton Road is one of the main busy shop/restaurant areas, and this motel is very close to a number of good restaurants, interesting shops, and the big Westfield Riccarton mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
28
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

One of the nicest motels we stayed in NZ. Its in the busy area of Riccarton which is great as you can't access the city itself due to the quake. We had a ground floor unit with 2 bedrooms, one double and 2 single beds. the main room itself was very spacious with a comfy couch and big tv. The bedrooms were smallish but perfectly adequate and good storage space. Bed clothes were fresh to hotel standard in my opinion. The bathroom was fine, we had no widow but that must depend which unit you have. We only stayed here one night so didn't make use of the kitchenette but it was spotlessly clean. there was a surcharge for wifi but only a few dollars and to be honest you'll find that in most places they charge.
Overall, really nice motel and would have no problem staying there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend because it was close to the train station where we were catching the Tranzalpine the next day and they could organise a free shuttle for us. We arrived quite late in the day but checkin was smooth and trouble-free. I had booked on the internet and it was all good.
We were able to walk down the road to a pub where we had dinner then back for a comfortable night's sleep. Our shuttle arrived pre-dawn (because of daylight saving) and on schedule and we made it to the train station in plenty of time.
I'd recommend this motel even if only for an overnight stay, especially if catching an early train.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

A nice motel - the room we had was quiet, warm and the beds were comfortable. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room at the back, away from the road noise. Very close to Westfield Mall and a lovely wee cafe is just across the road for breakfast and lunches.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Room was warm, quiet, clean and comfortable. Resonably central. Nice walk through the park into the city centre. Excellent access to shops - Westfield (very large shopping centre) up the road. Lots of food outlets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Quite central for park, mall, shops, cafes etc. Road in front extremely busy though. Bathroom and kitchenette clean. Checked the reviews and thought the motel would be of much higher standard. For the rate we paid we would expect the room to be daily checked for problems. The one bedside light wasn't working and the tap in the bathroom (basin) was broken and continually leaked. The shower cubicle was very small. I would class this as a very average motel with high rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in total within a 1 week period as struggled to book decent accommodation in Christchurch, and reviews were good. Was in a fairly good location with access to lots of restaurants, bars, Cafés, takeaways, shops and a large Westfield indoor shopping mall. It was also walking distance into Christchurch (approx 20minutes) which is a sorry sight but is like a phoenix and rising from the post earthquake ashes with new retail units, and lots of building and redevelopment going on.
The motel was clean and comfortable with good facilities. It had a on site laundry, WiFi at $5 per day, shame not free but cheap for NZ.
The main niggle was the road and traffic noise but suspect this is the same in many of the motels that share this road. Asked for a quieter room the second visit but was told no other rooms were available and the noise would lessen but it was still very noisy. The traffic was constant till late at night and started early in the morning, but just as annoying was a constant buzz from the electric fusebox on the wall. We mentioned the noise and had our room discounted by $5 and at $145 thought it was expensive considering what we had paid elsewhere for better quality accommodation.
The room was also quite tired in places, the cold tap was loose, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the melamine covering on the vanity unit was bubbling and coming off the bedside locker and there was a rip in the vinyl in the bathroom.
The staff were helpful if you need to book a taxi or airport transfer.
Overall an OK place to stay, but have stayed in much better during our 8 weeks in NZ, if you are going to stay there avoid room 9 and take some ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#68 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#83 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#98 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#42 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#54 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabelle Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabelle Court Motel

Property: Annabelle Court Motel
Address: 42 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annabelle Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star accommodation . Studios , spa studios, 1 and 2 bedroom units, Restaurants and cafes adjacent. Free WiFi. Close to Hagley Park, Westfield Shopping Mall, Christchurch Public Hospital, Addington Raceway and Railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Annabelle Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabelle Court Hotel
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing