We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch but...”
Review of Cafe Raeward

Cafe Raeward
Ranked #85 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch but...”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Meeting friends at this café, table had been booked and I was the first to arrive.
There was a guy busy seating and organising people who completely ignored me but he was busy so I waited, he still ignored me so I approached and asked if there was a table booked for Rachel, he checked his list and replied "Yes, happy days" and walked off, leaving me standing in the middle of the busy café! Unbelievable, rude man!
Both of the friends I was meeting are regulars here and when one of them arrived and asked for the table booked under Rachel he greeted them, found the table and was now very friendly.
If I wasn't meeting friends I would not have stayed for lunch, I have was blown away by how rude this man was, I had never been before and I will not go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    46
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Freshest food in town”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This cafe is a must and leave enough time to browse Raewards wonderful selection of produce. A colleague and I recently enjoyed a delicious lunch which was well presented and served promptly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This cafe is great to visit. Very near the airport and with plenty of parking. Not only is the food very tasty, the shop has a great selection of meat and vegetables. A good selection on the menu and the helpful staff. Bookings are recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christchurch Airport essential stop!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Whenever I have to pick anyone up from the airport, I always allow time to take them to the Raewood Fresh Cafe, the coffee is perfect, the staff and friendly and the food never disappoints!
From a wide range of cabinet food to menu options, you won't be disappointed.
The staff are always welcoming and fun to deal with.
There's a small kids play area also to amuse the little people in our lives.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrantO74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Intro to the city”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After collecting a camper van my mum and I stopped in here for breakfast. The service was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and the food delicious. Very glad we spotted this on the way to collect our van!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Raeward also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Raeward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing