We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch”

Hinton's Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our work social club had a mid winter lunch there today. They provided a 'simplified' menu for us of just 3 + 1 vegetarian mains at a standard price of $25. Some of us chose to indulge in the wine tasting and some had a dessert. My partner, like most, had the lamb rack which she was impressed with. I had the scallops and prawns in a creamy sauce which was very nice. My partners desert at only $11 was delicious.
The atmosphere was great and we had a very dapper crooner who sang at a very good background level so it didn't interfere with conversation but was very pleasant.
Some people had their kids with them and I was impressed that they were given 'proper' meals, nachos, pan fried fish, rather than chicken nibbles or similar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Contention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“After work canapés”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Group from work booked here for canapés after our conference. The service was superb! They opened the gates at 8am for us to meet and car pool while leaving vehicles parked all day. The restaurant was lovely and warm when we arrived. Friendly welcome and good description of each dish as it was passed around. Lots of choices, including plenty of gluten free options. We had a wide range of dishes and all were well presented and tasty. I particularly enjoyed the potato rosti with bacon, the lamb kofta and the veggie roulande. An enjoyable and successful late afternoon get together.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacq2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Hinton's Restaurant: Wonderful service and wonderful food.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was fortunate to attend Hinton's Restaurant with friends; I was so impressed with the service, surroundings and the quality of food, that I suggested at work, that it would be a suitable venue for my colleagues to attend for a convivial, work-related, get-together.
Organising the event was easy. The management were incredibly obliging, prompt with emails and proactive with suggestions. The 10 canapés that were finally chosen were exquisitely presented and appropriately garnished. The waitress was very amiable, appropriately conversant about each of the canapés. Feedback from all who attended was, “When can we come back”?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
1 review
“40th Anniversary”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Every aspect of our day gave our family and friends a great celebration. The ambience, food, service and fun complemented by the great staff. A big thanks to Dina,Kerry and their team. We will be back.
Jim & Lynda Grierson

Helpful?
Thank JimG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poorly presented 'only average' meal”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was taken to Hintons for lunch by a friend. We both chose the Fish of the Day. This was a major disappointment for us both. It looked like a novice prepared the meal and it didn't taste much better. Definitely not value for money. The restaurant was cold and draughty and we chose to leave after the meal and have dessert at another nearby restaurant.
Neither of us will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NannaA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hinton's Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hinton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing