We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours

Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.61*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On...
Ranked #20 of 89 Tours in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Must do tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a lovely day using the grand tour in Christchurch seeing all the attractions from the comfort of air conditioned bus. Driver was very friendly and informative. Great value for money included punting, garden tour, gondola and tram ride. We got a gift package at the end which topped it off, great experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your day on the Grand Tour, and that you thought it was good value. Thank you for taking the Grand Tour, and for taking the time to review your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value for Money for Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Totally recommend this if you wish to get around the main attractions for Christchurch along with a knowledgeable bus driver and amazing views!!
For $119 this was the best way for us to get around on a limited time frame, but not being jostled along like other tours, it was a relaxing laid back day in comfort and style. Punting on the avon was a fabulous way to start the day, before we boarded the Caterpillar" in the beautiful botanic Gardens, an interesting hour to cruise through the gardens and a slow pace, with options to get off and get those tourist snaps.
After that we were back on the bus, in comfort with a complimentary bottle of water - which was a welcome relief on our hot hot day - we were off to the gondola, travelling via the seaside village of summer. We were given a discount card to spend in the "shop at the top" and told we had an hour and half to spend at our leisure, so we were off on a walk before we came back to enjoy a good hot mocha and a muffin. The views from up top were just stunning and I would still recommend this on a cloudy overcast day. Our driver met us back at the base and we were off back to the city. We were given our Tram tickets and we could ride this at the end of the day or the following day - the ticket allows you to hop on and off for a day - we had a mooch around container city and saved the tram for the following day.
Hotel pick up and drop off was a bonus, welcoming and informative driver, super sights, laid back and comfortable, beats the rumbling of a double decker bus sorry to say. thank you Grand tour definitely Value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burtygirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction! We aim to give our customers a relaxing and entertaining day, and are glad that you enjoyed your time on the tour. I will pass on your comments to the staff at our attractions. There are lots of nice walks around the Gondola Summit Station that allow some great views and photo opportunities! Thank you for taking the Grand Tour and for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Christchurch Grand Tour has to be the best value for money tour experience in Christchurch.A seamless day out, we experienced all the iconic Christchurch attractions with punting on the Avon, the Gondola, a garden tour in a shuttle through the Botanic Gardens and a tram tour. My driver Ian was a wonderful host, i was delighted to receive a memento gift and a bottle of water after my punting activity. The tour extended to Sumner , it was relaxing and full filling. Top marks and the cafe at the gondola was a pleasant surprise. Well done Welcome Aboard.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the Grand Tour. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour, our attractions, and the Red Rock Cafe! I will pass on your comments to Ian and the rest of the Grand Tour team. Sumner is a lovely part of Christchurch that many visitors do not get a chance to visit, so we are happy to take our Grand Tour customers there to show them around the area. Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience not to miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our short visit to Christchurch proved to be a very eventful and productive experience when we jumped on the Grand Tour. Starting from pickup at our accommodation in town, we went around in a bus to the punting, gardens tour, gondola and the tram, riding along with an extensive commentary given by our driver Dave, an ex-teacher with a relaxed demeanour. Along the way to each activity, we he explained the history and the constantly changing landscape of the city, as well as the suburbs out towards the coast. Although lunch is not supplied on the tour, the driver recommended us to grab some lunch from the café at the top of the gondola, which proved to be delicious and was supplemented with a great view of the harbour and the city. We were also pleasantly surprised with being supplied with bottled water and a free key ring gift to remind us of our great experiences of the journey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the tour and commentary as well as the visits to our attractions. I will pass on your comments about the tour to your driver Dave as well as to the cafe staff at the Gondola. Thank you for choosing to take our Grand Tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic day in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

still sad to see the devastation in Christchurch BUT take the Christchurch Grand Tour with www.welcomeaboard.co.nz -- was just fantastic - covered gardens, tram, gondola and the best punting experience, so relaxing --- highly recommend

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank accomodationreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking our Grand Tour, and for taking the time to review our attractions. We're so happy to hear your day with us was interesting and relaxing. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope you can visit Christchurch again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Grand Tour- Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing