We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fine Dining but Great Food & Service”
Review of Samurai Bowl

Samurai Bowl
Ranked #153 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Fine Dining but Great Food & Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are regular visitors to Samurai Bowl. Superb food and service, as they say on their literature, it's a casual dining place so don't expect "the works" and prices to match. Recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    62
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Easily one of the best Japanese restaurant outside of Japan! Cheap and cheery set up and mainly frequented by students but the food is yummy! On a cold winter night, a hot bowl of ramen or an extra-large size tonkatsu curry certainly warms the belly! If there is room left go for the cheesecake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garden V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Casual dining”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We love Samurai bowl for casual dining or takeaways.
Well priced authentic Japanese - similar to what we experienced in Japan.
Eating in is great as they bring out food super quick! Don't go here if you are after a long winded dining experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice authentic home cooking Japanese meals”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is what an authentic, home cooking Japanese meals would taste like. Unpretentious cooking, nothing flashy, not absolutely delicious like top restaurant quality food, but authentic taste and simple service. Good prices. Although my favorite is Osaka, but Samurai Bowl comes second when it comes to affordable Japanese meals. Recommended

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ramen Heaven!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The taste of the ramen never fails me. It's always great!!! Especially the curry ramen, it's highly recommended! If you'd like to have side dish, the seaweed salad is very good and also the karage chicken. My husband and I are regulars at Samurai Bowl. We go there at least once a week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samurai Bowl also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Samurai Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing